Hypertension

ata shows that hundreds of millions of people around the world have hypertension, while almost 50% of elderly and 20-30% of middle-aged people in Hong Kong are suffering from the disease. Hypertension is often known as the “invisible killer”. Generally speaking, patients do not have obvious symptoms in the early stage and this usually leads to delay or lack of treatment and may eventually lead to severe complications, e.g. heart disease, stroke, renal failure and even death.
 
(This article is the translated copy from Traditional Chinese version. If there is any conflict or ambiguity between the English and Chinese versions, the Chinese version shall prevail.)

1

Most people with hypertension do not have obvious symptoms and it is usually detected in a routine body check. A small number of patients may have symptoms of headache, dizziness and fatigue.

 

Since hypertension cannot be identified easily, adults should  have blood pressure measured at least once every 2 years, for early detection of the disease.
2

Before understanding hypertension, we need to know what blood pressure is. The beating of the heart can pump blood around the body. When blood is pumped into the arteries, the pressure pushing against the arterial walls is called “blood pressure”. “Systolic pressure” or “upper pressure” is the pressure exerted on the arterial walls when the heart contracts. Diastolic pressure” or “lower pressure” is the pressure exerted on the arterial walls when the heart relaxes. Blood pressure is generally measured in millimeters of mercury (mmHg).

 

According to the definition by World Health Organization, hypertension is a  reading of blood pressure greater than 140 (higher pressure) over 90 (lower pressure) mmHg with repeated measurements when the person is resting.

3

The risk factors are:

  • Age: the risk increases with one’s age
  • Family history: people are prone to hypertension if their families had it before
  • Weight: being overweight or obese
  • Diet: too much salt (sodium) in the diet for a prolonged period
  • Lifestyle habits: smoking, drinking, stress and lack of exercise
4

Prevention of hypertension starts with good living habits:

  • Salt is mainly made of sodium and high sodium in diet will lead to hypertension. Beware of the intake of salt in daily diet, e.g. reducing the consumption of smoked or pickled food with a high salt content. Herbs, spices or lemon juice may be used to replace salt or MSG (a flavour- enhancing compound) in cooking.
  • Eat more vegetables and fruits
  • Quit smoking and reduce alcohol consumption
  • Weight control
  • Regular exercise: lack of exercise will affect the flexibility of blood vessels, which causes stiffening of the vessels and induces hypertension.
  • Keep your mind relaxed
5

Hypertension can be categorized into two types, primary and secondary, with  different causes:

 

l   Primary hypertension: around 90% of hypertension cases are primary, with no identifiable causes and mostly related to heredity, personality, mental stress and obesity.

l   Secondary hypertension: hypertension mainly caused by other illnesses or change in health conditions, e.g. renal disease and endocrine disorder (disorder of the endocrine glands that secretes hormones). Blood pressure of the patient will be back to normal if the illnesses are cured.

6

The easiest and simplest way is to use a blood pressure meter to measure your blood pressure.

 

If needed, a doctor will arrange further examinations for the patient, such as blood test, electrocardiogram (an electrical recording of the heart to check if it is functioning properly), chest X-ray examination, urine test and fundus (the interior surface of the eyes) examination, etc. to identify the cause of hypertension and the potential harm to internal organs.

7

Medication:
Doctors will prescribe appropriate drugs to the patient to lower his blood pressure.  Common drugs used for treating hypertension include diuretics, beta blockers , calcium channel blockers, angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitors  angiotensin II receptor blockers,  alpha blockers and vasodilators, etc. Patients should take medicines prescribed by their doctor according to the dosing schedule. If they do not feel well after taking the medicines, they should consult their doctor as soon as possible. Medication works well generally.
 
To maintain good lifestyle habits
People with hypertension should quit smoking, reduce drinking, control body weight, pay attention to diet, avoid excessive salt intake and perform physical activities regularly.  For more advice and information on exercise, please consult professionals or visit the Exercise Prescription website of the Department of Health (hyperlink: http://exerciserx.cheu.gov.hk).

8

Uncontrolled hypertension can cause the following complications:

—   Arteriosclerosis (blood vessels that supply oxygen and other nutrients to the body's organs harden and become narrower): Arteriosclerosis can cause serious diseases, e.g. heart disease and stroke.

—   Aneurysm (a swollen blood vessel): uncontrolled hypertension can make a blood vessel wall thinner and bulged, and result in aneurysm. It could be fatal if the aneurysm bursts.

—   Heart failure: rise in blood pressure will increase the resistance of blood vessels, placing an added load on the heart; and will result in heart failure.

—   Stroke: the bursting of an aneurysm in the brain can cause stroke.  Uncontrolled hypertension can also cause blood clots in the carotid artery (arteries in the neck), and if the blood clot enters the brain, it can cause embolic stroke.

—   Renal failure: uncontrolled hypertension will affect the arteries in the kidneys, causing damage to kidney function.

—   Retinopathy (damage to blood vessels of the light-sensitive tissue at the back of the eye): uncontrolled hypertension will affect arterioles (branches of arteries) in eyes, causing lesions.

 
9

Patients should pay return visits regularly and take medicines according to medical advice. In general, hypertensive patients have to be on medication for a prolonged period and they must not adjust the dosage themselves. When traveling, they should bring along enough medicines for use. They can also measure and record their blood pressure regularly for health monitoring purpose. Good lifestyle habits can help control the disease.

Back To Top
Local and Overseas Supporting Organisations
Back To Top
Related Documents
Back To Top
Related Audio
  • Hypertension and Kidney
Back To Top
Related Video
Back To Top
Back To Top

高血压

资料显示全球以亿计人士患有高血压(Hypertension),而香港有接近50%长者及20-30%中年人士为高血压患者。高血压常被称为「隐形杀手」,一般而言,患者初期没有明显病征,往往令患者延误求医,或忽视疗程,结果可引致严重的并发症如心脏病、中风、肾衰竭,甚至死亡。

(感谢伊利沙伯医院内科部顾问医生何教忠医生审阅本页内容)

1
高血压没有明显病症,一般在例行身体检查中量度血压时发现。小部份病者会有头痛、头晕、疲倦等现象。

由于高血压并不容易察觉,因此建议成年人每兩年最少一次量度血压,以便及早发现问题所在。

2

在了解高血压之前,我们必先认识何谓血压。人体心脏的跳动,可推动血液运行全身,心脏将血液泵进血管时,血管壁所受到压力称为「血压」。「收缩压」或称「上压」指心脏收缩时加诸血管壁的压力;而「舒张压」或称「下压」指心脏放松时血管壁承受的压力。量度血压一般以毫米水银柱(mmHg)为单位。

根据世界卫生组织定义,高血压指人体在休息的状态下,经多次量度,血压高于 140(上压)/ 90(下压)毫米水银柱。

3
以下是患高血压的危险因素:
  • 年龄:患病风险随着年龄增长而升高
  • 家族史:亲属患过此病的人士,患上的机会较高
  • 体重:过重或肥胖的人士
  • 饮食:长期进食高盐份(钠)食物
  • 生活习惯:吸烟、嗜酒、缺乏运动、精神紧张


4
预防高血压可从建立良好的生活习惯入手:
  • 食盐的主要成份为钠,进食过多的钠会令血压上升。要注意日常饮食中盐份的摄取量, 如减少进食熏制或腌制的高盐食物、或以香草、香料、柠檬汁等替代食盐或味精烹调食物
  • 增加蔬菜、水果的摄取量
  • 戒烟、限制饮酒
  • 控制体重
  • 保持运动:血管缺乏运动,影响其弹性;血管会变得愈来愈硬,容易出现高血压
  • 保持心境轻松
5

高血压可分为「原发性高血压」及「继发性高血压」两类,其成因亦因而有所不同:

  • 原发性高血压:约九成高血压患者属原发性高血压,患病成因不明,一般与遗传、性格、精神紧张和肥胖有关。
  • 继发性高血压:高血压主要由其他疾病或身体变化引起,如肾病、内分泌失调等。若能治愈病因,患者的血压可回复正常水平。
6
相片

最简易的诊断方法是利用血压计量度血压。

此外,医生会安排有需要的患者进行血液检验、心电图、胸肺X光照片检查、尿液检验、眼底检查等作进一步检查,以侦测引致血压高的病因,及其对身体各器官可能做成的伤害。

7
药物治疗
医生会按病人的情况,处方适当的降血压药物。常见用于治疗高血压的药物包括利尿剂(diuretics)、乙型阻断剂(beta blockers)、钙离子阻断剂(calcium channel blockers)、血管收缩素抑制剂(angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitors)、血管紧张素II受体阻滞剂 (angiotensin II receptor blockers)、甲型阻断剂(alpha blockers)、血管扩张剂(vasodilators)等。病人须依照医生的指示定时定量服药,服药后如有不适,应尽早向医生查询。一般而言,药物治疗的成效理想。
建立良好的生活习惯:
高血压患者应调节生活,戒烟、限制饮酒、控制体重、注意饮食、避免摄取过量盐分及进行恒常体能活动。若想获得更多运动的建议及信息,可请教专业人士,或浏览卫生署运动处方网站 (hyperlink: http://exerciserx.cheu.gov.hk)。
8
不受控制的高血压可引致以下并发症:
  • 动脉硬化:动脉硬化可诱发心脏病、中风等严重疾病。
  • 动脉瘤:不受控制的高血压有机会令血管壁变薄及膨胀,形成动脉瘤。动脉瘤破裂可致命。
  • 心力衰竭:血压上升令血管的阻力增加,加重心脏的负担,引致心脏衰竭。
  • 中风:脑部的动脉瘤破裂可引致中风。另外,不受控制的高血压可令颈动脉产生血块,如血块流入脑部可导致栓塞性中风。
  • 肾衰竭:不受控制的高血压会影响肾脏的动脉,令肾脏功能受损。
  • 视网膜病变:不受控制的高血压会影响眼部的小动脉,诱发病变。
9
病人应按医生的建议定期覆诊及定时定量服药,高血压患者一般需要长期服药,切勿自行胡乱调节服药剂量。外出旅行时,要留意配备足够的药物。另外,病人可自行定时量度及记录血压,以监察个人情况。而建立良好的生活习惯亦可帮助控制病情。
回上
本地及海外支援组织
回上
相关资料
回上
相关录音片段
  • 高血压与肾病
回上
相关录像影片
回上
回上