Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia

Benign prostatic hyperplasia(BPH), also known as benign prostatic hypertrophy, is a very common degenerative disease among the older men in Hong Kong. The incidence rate increases with age. About half of all men over age 50 start to develop BPH. Almost 90% of men over age 80 get BPH, and around half of them have the symptom of urinary obstruction.

BPH can cause constriction of the urethra, which may lead to severe urinary problems. Although BPH is not a life-threatening disease, it can seriously affect quality of life.

The aging of population significantly increases the number of men with prostate problems. Most men over age 50 may have experienced some of the following symptoms: frequent urination at night; increased urination during the day; sudden urge to urinate; interrupted or weak urinary stream; dribbling at the end of urinating; and feeling that the bladder is not empty even after urinating. All these are warning signs of BPH. If you have any of these symptoms, you should see you doctor as soon as possible.

Most older men have BPH problems. Men with BPH should not delay seeking treatment because of embarrassment. Early diagnosis and treatment can help relieve symptoms effectively. 

(Special thanks to Dr W. C. YIP, Chief of Service and Consultant Surgeon, Kwong Wah Hospital for reviewing the information of this page.)

1

The prostate gland is a male organ about the size of a walnut. It is located below the bladder and surrounds the urethra. Its major function is to produce the fluid in semen that transports sperm out of the body.

The size of adult prostate generally remains stable until middle-age, when hormonal changes may cause enlargement of the prostate. Since the enlargement is non-cancerous, it is called benign prostatic hyperplasia.

When the prostate enlarges, it presses down on the urethra. This pressure can lead to difficult urination and other urinary problems. Clinical statistics show that BPH affects around 50% of men between the ages 51 and 60, 70% of men at the age of 70, and up to 90% of men over the age of 80.

2

BPH is mainly produced by age-related hormonal changes and non-cancerous overgrowth of prostate tissue. Urinary infections can increase the severity of BPH symptoms. Besides, obesity, stress, depression, alcohol abuse, smoking, medications, diet habits and poor hygiene can increase the risk of BPH.

3

The risk of getting BPH increases with age. It is still uncertain what might prevent the condition. However, the following can help to reduce the risk of developing BPH:

  • Regular checkups
    According to the American Cancer Society, men over 50 years of age should have an annual prostate examination for early detection and treatment of BPH.
  • Digital rectal examination (DRE)
    Men over 50 years of age should have a DRE at least once a year. The test examines the size and shape of the prostate, and checks for abnormal nodules or inflammation.
  • Maintaining a healthy diet and adopting a healthy lifestyle
4

The actual cause of BPH is still unknown. However, clinical studies show that the prostate of most men by the age of 50 will enlarge gradually due to hormonal changes that lead to overgrowth of the prostate tissue. The muscle tissue in the prostate will also contract and constrict the urethra. It can block the normal flow of urine and lead to difficulty in urination.

5

相片 BPH usually begins with slow urine flow. Since there is no pain or obvious nuisance, most men tend to ignore it. When the condition becomes more serious, there is difficulty in starting urination. This is because the enlarged prostate presses down on the urethra and causes the urethra to constrict, the bladder is then forced to press harder to push the urine out. The bladder wall becomes thicker and thicker while the bladder can hold less and less urine. It can lead to the following symptoms:

  • Frequent urination. Having an urge to urinate many times during the day and getting up more often at night to urinate.
  • Difficulty starting urination or delayed start while trying to urinate
  • Hesitant, intermittent, weak or slow urine stream. Stopping and starting or even dribbling while urinating. 
  • Dribbling at the end of urination
  • Feeling that the bladder is not completely emptied after urinating. Straining to urinate
  • Having strong or sudden urge to urinate quite often, especially at night
  • Urge incontinence, i.e. inability to control urination
  • Urinary incontinence
  • Acute urinary retention: A sudden, painful inability to urinate that leads to acute retention of urine in the bladder
  • Lower abdominal discomfort
  • Blood in the urine (hematuria)

Although BPH is not a seasonal affective condition, incidence of BPH occurs more often in winter. The reason is that cold weather stimulates the sympathetic nerves and strengthens muscle contraction of the prostate, which further constricts the urethra and brings on some of the symptoms. Besides, as people get flu more often in winter, some sinus medicines also strengthens muscle contraction of the prostate and increases the symptoms such as difficult urination.

The symptoms and severity of BPH vary from person to person, and do not necessarily correspond with the size of the prostate.

6
相片

To diagnose BPH, doctors generally use the International Prostate Symptom Score questionnaire (IPSS) to evaluate the severity of symptoms. Designed by the American urological Association (AUA), the IPSS is an important tool to determine prostate problems at the early stage, to follow the progression of BPH and to track the treatment effects.

The IPSS consists of 7 questions, scored on a scale from 0-5:

The symptoms are graded as:
mild:         score 1 to 7
moderate:  score 8 to 19
severe:      score 20 to 35

Besides, doctors may also do some of the following tests to diagnose the condition:

Digital rectal examination (DRE)
The doctor inserts a gloved finger through the patient's anus into the rectum to assess the size, shape, symmetry and consistency of the prostate, to feel for nodules and hardness, and examine the rectum and anus at the same time. However, this test alone is not sufficient for diagnosing the degree of obstruction or the severity of the condition.

Urine test (urinalysis)
A urine test checks if there is blood in the urine, infection or proteinuria.

Prostate-specific antigen (PSA) blood test
PSA is a protein produced by the prostate. Elevated PSA levels may indicate prostate problems. PSA blood test can help screen for prostate cancer.

Uroflowmetry
Uroflowmetry measures the urine flow rate, the degree of obstruction and help to monitor treatment effects.

Transrectal ultrasound (TRUS)
An ultrasound test provides measurements of the prostate and reveals the amount of residual urine in the bladder.

Bladder function test
Straining to force out the urine due to difficult urination may cause weak bladder over time. Bladder function test is needed to check how well the bladder is working.
 
Urodynamics tests
Urodynamics tests measure the urine volume and pressure in the bladder, the urine flow rate and the residual urine in the bladder.

Cystoscopy
A lighted flexible telescope (cystoscope) is inserted into the urethra to examine the bladder for signs of obstruction or abnormalities.

In some cases, further tests may be needed to confirm the diagnosis. These tests include postvoid residual urine test, ultrasonography, intravenous urogram, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), X-rays or intravenous pyelogram (IVP).

7
相片

BPH is most commonly treated with medications or minimally invasive surgery. Depending on the severity of the conditions, doctors will recommend appropriate treatments to relieve symptoms, reduce the risk of complications or stop BPH progression.

Medications

Doctors generally use medications to treat moderate symptoms of BPH. There are two main classes of medicine: 5-alpha-reductase inhibitors and alpha –receptor blockers. Usually, these medicines have to be taken for long periods of time. In most cases, medications can improve the symptom of difficult urination caused by BPH.

  • 5-alpha-reductase inhibitors
    These medications shrink the prostate by blocking the production of a hormone called dihydrotestosterone (DHT) that causes the prostate to enlarge. They do this by blocking an enzyme called 5-alpha-reductase. These medicines help reduce the severity of BPH and the need for surgery. It may take 3 to 6 months for them to be effective. The anti-androgen finasteride is a 5-alpha-reductase inhibitor commonly used to treat BPH.

  • Alpha-receptor blockers/Alpha blockers
    These medications can lower blood pressure and widen blood vessels. They help relax bladder neck and urethral muscles and make it easier to urinate. However, they cannot reduce the size of the prostate. Hence, the prostate will continue to enlarge. These medications should be used long-term. The symptom of difficult urination will return and may become more severe if the medication is stopped. These medicines work quickly to alleviate symptoms. 70- 80% of patients have improvement within a few days. However, patients who experience serious side-effects should not use them. The most common alpha-receptor blockers are terazosin, doxazosin and tamsulosin.

Surgery

Doctors may recommend surgery if the patients have severe symptoms or are unwilling to take long-term medication, or if medication is not effective or complications have occurred. The purpose is to remove part of the excess prostate tissue. The following are several common types of surgery for BPH:

(a) Transurethral incision of the prostate (TUIP)

This is an endoscopic procedure. It is performed by inserting an endoscope through the urethra to the prostate. Then a small incision is made in the prostate tissue to enlarge the opening of the urethra and bladder outlet. TUIP is a pretty safe procedure and there is no exterior wound after surgery. The procedure takes about 40-50 minutes.

(b) Transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP)

This is also an endoscopic procedure. It is performed by inserting an endoscope through the penis and removing the obstructing prostate piece by piece with an electric current. The heat of the electric current can stop bleeding quickly as well. The procedure takes about 60-90 minutes and may be done under general or regional anesthesia.

(c) Open prostatectomy

This is a more traditional operation. An incision is made in the lower abdomen to remove prostate tissue. It is generally performed when the prostate is very large.

Minimally invasive treatments

Minimally invasive treatments are comparatively newer and less traumatic. They generally can be done under regional anesthesia and do not require hospitalization. .

Some of the minimally invasive treatments are:

  • Transurethral microwave thermotherapy (TUMT): TUMT uses microwave heat to destroy enlarged prostate tissue.
  • Transurethral needle ablation (TUNA): TUNA uses low levels of radiofrequency energy to heat and destroy overgrown prostate tissue.
  • Visual laser ablation of the prostate (VLAP): VLAP uses high-energy lasers to destroy excess prostate tissue.
  • Balloon Dilation: This treatment uses an expandable balloon to widen the urethra.
8

Some men with BPH may not notice any symptoms. They may not know they have prostate problems until they suddenly experience painful inability to urinate. This condition is known as acute urinary retention. It demands immediate treatment. Otherwise, other complications may occur.
 
Common complications of BPH include:

(a) Acute urinary retention
This is a sudden inability to urinate. The bladder becomes swollen and painful. It is an emergency that demands immediate medical attention.

(b) Urinary tract infections
Residual urine caused by BPH may lead to recurrent urinary tract infections.

(c) Bladder stones
BPH can increase the risk of bladder stone formation.

(d) Blood in the urine
BPH may cause bleeding.

(e) Impaired bladder function
BPH can cause bladder outlet obstruction. When the bladder has to work harder to push the urine out for a long period of time, the muscular wall of the bladder stretches and weakens and no longer contracts properly.

(f) Impaired kidney function
Severe BPH can cause urine to back up in and damage the kidneys. Hydronephrosis, uremia and even kidney failure may result.

(g) Prostatitis, an inflammation of the prostate gland.

It is believed that BPH does not lead to cancer, but both conditions can exist together.

9
  • Go for health checkup regularly. Receive a digital rectal exam (DRE) and prostate-specific antigen (PSA) test at least once a year.
  • Avoid prolonged sitting and don't delay urination.
  • Maintain a healthy diet. Reduce consumption of high cholesterol or hot stimulating foods.
  • Exercise regularly.
  • Don't drink too much caffeine or alcohol.
  • Avoid drinking a lot of fluids before bedtime to help relieve nocturia symptoms.
  • Try not to take over-the-counter cold, cough or sinus medicines. These medicines can tighten the urethra and thus increase BPH symptoms.
    Back To Top
    Local and Overseas Supporting Organisations
    • NHS, UK
    Back To Top
    Related Audio
    Back To Top
    Related Video
    Back To Top
    Back To Top

良性前列腺胀大

良性前列腺胀大 (Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia) 亦称前列腺良性肥大或前列腺增生症,在本港中老年男性中,是一种非常普遍的退化性疾病。发病率随年龄而递增,五十岁以上的男性约有一半开始出现前列腺肥大的情况,而八十岁以上男士的前列腺,接近九成在显微镜下有明显增生的变化,当中约有一半人在临床上会出现小便阻塞的征状。

良性前列腺胀大会令尿道收窄,引致下泌尿系统的病情日益严重。虽然良性前列腺胀大并不是致命的疾病,但却严重影响生活质素。

由于人口老化,前列腺疾病有着急剧上升的趋势。年过五十岁的男士,也许都曾试过频频夜尿、日间小便次数递增、忽然尿急、尿水断断续续、排尿无力、小便后滴尿或感到未完全将尿液排清等经历,这些都有可能是良性前列腺胀大的警号,应尽快找医生检查,不容忽视。

絶大多数年长男性都面对此疾病的苦困。受困扰的男士不应再因难以启齿而延医,及早就诊,可有效纾缓病征。

(感谢广华医院外科部部门主管及顾问医生/泌尿专科医生叶维晋医生审阅本页内容)

1

前列腺又名摄护腺,是男性独有的腺体,体积只相当于一颗核桃般细小,位于膀胱之下,包围着尿道,主要作用是分泌精液以运送精子。

一般来说,前列腺在男性发育完成后便会维持固定的大小,但随着年龄渐长,中年以后可能因贺尔蒙转变而引致前列腺开始胀大。由于属非癌性组织生长,因此定为良性,故称良性前列腺胀大。

前列腺胀大会令尿道受压,导致排尿不顺,甚至影响排尿功能。根据临床上的统计,51-60岁的男性约有50%出现前列腺胀大的情况,而70岁则约有70%,到了80岁以上,几乎90%以上的男性都会前列腺胀大。

2

良性前列腺胀大主要是由于荷尔蒙转变和非癌性前列腺组织增生而引致,而泌尿系统患上炎症也会使症状加重。此外,肥胖、心理压力、抑郁、酗酒、吸烟、药物、饮食习惯及卫生等等因素,都有可能导致良性前列腺胀大的机会。

3

随着年纪的增长,患上前列腺胀大的机会亦相对提高,故此至今尚未有明确的预防方法,不过大家可以参考以下的建议,相信会有助减低前列腺胀大的风险:

  • 定期检查
    根据美国癌病学会的建议,50岁以上的男士每年都应定期进行前列腺检查,有助及早诊断病情和进行治疗。
  • 肛门指诊
    一般建议50岁以上男性,每年至少应进行一次肛门指诊。此检查可概略了解前列腺的大小、形状、是否有不正常的硬块、有否发炎等。
  • 保持健康的饮食及生活习惯
4

目前医学界仍未找出前列腺胀大的真正成因,不过,临床显示,大部分男性从50岁开始,性腺功能便会慢慢地发生变化,前列腺的体积会随着年龄的增长而逐渐胀大、组织慢慢出现增生,而前列腺内的肌肉组织亦会开始收缩,形成尿道被挤压阻塞,以致小便困难。

5

相片 患上前列腺胀大,开始时可能只感到小便缓慢,没有以前般畅顺,一般来说,由于没有产生痛楚或未感到明显困扰,因此大多数患者都不以为然,没有多加理会。到病情较为严重时,小便排出时开始感到困难,这时尿道已经被胀大了的前列腺挤压而变窄,膀胱壁需要加倍用力才能排尿,膀胱壁因而变得越来越厚,膀胱内储尿的空间也随之减少,导致出现以下症状:

  • 尿频。日间小便次数增多,夜间更为明显,甚至整夜多次急需小便,无法一觉睡到天亮。
  • 开始排尿时会出现困难,要等一会才能排出小便。
  • 小便流量细弱无力,尿流断续、中断或缓慢,甚至会慢慢滴出来。
  • 尿末滴漏
  • 排尿后,感到尿意未尽,需要用力才能排出。
  • 经常突然产生很强的尿意,在晚间尤为常见。
  • 急迫性失禁(urge incontinence),一有尿意便要立即排尿,失去控制排尿的能力。
  • 小便失禁
  • 急性尿潴留。膀胱储满尿,但突然排不出,导致急性尿闭。
  • 下腹感不适
  • 尿中带血

此病变虽然没有季节性,但临床显示,前列腺胀大求诊个案在冬季出现较多,因为寒冷天气令交感神经处于兴奋状态,引致前列腺内的肌内组织收缩力增强,令本身已轻微受阻的尿道更为收窄,使征状更明显。另一方面,由于冬天较多人患上感冒,一些收鼻水药物会令前列腺肌肉组织加强收缩,同样会使患者出现小便困难等症状。良性前列腺胀大的症状及严重程度因人而异,而且不一定与前列腺的大小有关。

6
相片

诊断良性前列腺胀大,医生通常会透过国际前列腺症状评分问卷(International Prostate Symptom Score questionnaire, I-PSS)来评估症状的严重程度。

「国际前列腺症状评分问卷」(IPSS) 目前临床上主要以美国泌尿学会(AUA) 设计的「国际前列腺症状评分问卷」(IPSS) 来评估前列腺胀大的程度,是诊断良性前列腺胀大的重要方法之一,可帮助医生初诊时评估病情及作为跟进治疗成效的尺度。

问卷包括7项内容,按症状程度分为1-5分:

总得分:
0-7分 - 症状轻微
8-19分 - 症状中等
20-35分 - 症状严重。

此外,医生还可能会替求诊者进行以下检查,以诊断病情。
 

肛门指探

医生会先戴上手套,把手指放入肛门内,在直肠位置检查前列腺的大小、软硬度、对称度、平均度,和是否有硬块。与此同时,医生也可对肛门括约肌和直肠表面作出检查,称为「直肠指检」(DRE)。这种检查可令医生对患者前列腺的大小作出估计,初步估量手术约需时间;但因为精确度不足,不能判断前列腺的阻塞程度或病情深浅。

尿液化验

检查是否出现血尿、发炎或蛋白尿等现象。

前列腺特异性抗原(prostate-specific antigen, PSA)血液测试

前列腺特异性抗原是一种由前列腺所制造的蛋白质。通过此抗原血液测试,有助判断患上前列腺癌的可能性。

尿流速检查  / 尿速测试 (Uroflowmetry)

透过仪器记录患者排尿流速的大小,并测量尿流受阻程度。也可作为服药后追踪的指标之一。

前列腺超音波(TRUS)扫描
 可准确测量前列腺的大小及尿液积聚在膀胱的情况。

膀胱机能检查

长期排尿困难,令膀胱用力逼尿,形成膀胱无力的情况,因此需要对膀胱机能作出检查。

泌尿动态检查 (Urodynamics Tests)

又名「尿路动力学测试」。检查膀胱内尿液的容量及压力、尿液从膀胱的排放,及排尿后仍潴留在膀胱内的尿量。

膀胱镜检查 (Cystoscopy)

将膀胱内窥镜导入尿道,直接观察是否有阻塞或异常状况。


此外医生也可能因应个别需要,而进行膀胱余尿(Postvoid residual urine)、泌尿系统超声波检查 (Ultrasonography)、泌尿造影检查(Intravenous Urogram)、核磁共震、X光或静脉肾盂摄影(IVP)等检查,以协助诊断病情。

7
相片

治疗良性前列腺胀大,一般以药物或微创手术为主,医生会因应病情严重程度而建议治疗方法。治疗目的在于减轻症状、减低并发症风险、阻止或减除前列腺胀大的情况。

药物治疗

如果病情不太严重,医生通常会采用药物治疗。治疗良性前列腺胀大的常用药物主要分两大类,包括5-α还原酶抑制剂(5-alpha-reductase inhibitors)及α-受体阻滞剂(alpha-receptor blockers);两类药物均需长期服用。大部分患者在接受药物治疗后,可改善因前列腺胀大而导致的排尿困难症状。

  • 5-α还原酶抑制剂(5-alpha-reductase inhibitors):
    5-α还原酶抑制剂是一种可使前列腺缩小的药物,原理是抑制5α-Reductase。作用是透过抑制二氢睪酮(dihydrotestosterone)产生而缩小前列腺,减低前列腺胀大的严重性,因此可以减低手术的需要。一般来说,5-α还原酶抑制剂需要持续服用3-6个月才起效。常用的5-α还原酶抑制剂是抗男性贺尔蒙治疗剂非那甾胺(finasteride)。
  • α-受体阻滞剂(alpha-receptor blockers)/ 甲型肾上腺受体阻断剂 (Alpha blocker):
    α-受体阻滞剂有降血压和松弛血管功能,有助放松膀胱和尿道旁的肌肉,从而改善排尿困难的症状。不过,α-受体阻滞剂并不能缩小前列腺的体积,所以不能改善前列腺胀大的根本问题。一般建议长期服用,因为若停药后,排尿困难症状可能再度加重。七至八成病人服用后数天见效,但有些病人因副作用太大而不宜使用。最常用的α-受体阻滞剂有特拉唑(terazosin)、多拉唑(doxazosin)及tamsulosin。

手术治疗

如果症状严重,而患者服药后效果不佳、或已出现并发症、又或者不愿长期服药,医生会建议患者接受手术治疗,目的都是切减部分胀大的前列腺组织。

目前治疗良性前列腺胀大的手术主要分为:

(一) 经尿道前列腺切除术 Transurethral incision of the prostate (TUIP):

属于微创手术。使用内窥镜经由尿道以特制的手术刀将造成阻塞的前列腺切除,安全性颇高,是目前最常用的手术疗法之一。手术时间一般约为40-50分钟,手术后没有外在伤口,住院时间约须4-5天。

(二) 经尿道前列腺电刮术 Transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP):

属于微创手术。「电刮」又名「电切」。将内窥镜放入阴茎,配合一条带电的金属线,把胀大的前列腺组织慢慢刮除。由于金属线产生热能,因此发挥边刮边止血效果。手术一般约为60-90分钟,可以使用全身或半身麻醉。

(三) 开腹腔切除前列腺:

属传统开刀手术。于下腹位置开刀,适用于切除十分胀大的前列腺。

温和微创治疗

除了进行手术治疗外,部分患者也可以采用创伤性较低的最新治疗技术,病人通常只需接受局部麻醉便可进行治疗,无须留院。这些治疗包括:

  • 经尿道微波高温疗法 (TUMT, Trans Urethral Microwave Thermotherapy):使用微波高温,将前列腺的胀大组织烧除。
  • 尿道调频高温疗法:使用低能量电频烧毁前列腺的胀大部位。
  • 经尿道雷射切除法(VLAP):利用激光激光将胀大的前列腺气化,去除多余的组织。
  • 气囊扩张术:使用扩充的气囊扩阔尿道。
      8

      部分患者可能并不察觉任何良性前列腺胀大的症状,直至突然闭尿,并感到十分痛楚,才知道前列腺出现问题,这情况称为急性尿潴留(acute urinary retention),必须实时治疗,否则可能出现其他并发症。

      良性前列腺胀大的常见并发症包括:

      (一)急性尿滞留:病人会突然完全无法排尿,膀胱胀痛。此时须紧急到求诊。

      (二)尿路感染发炎:前列腺胀大会导致余尿增加,使尿路很容易受感染而发炎。

      (三)膀胱结石:前列腺胀大会增加膀胱结石的机会。

      (四)血尿:胀大的前列腺可能造成出血。

      (五)膀胱机能损害:前列腺胀大造成膀胱出口阻塞,膀胱须额外出力才能将尿液排出,长期如此,会导致膀胱肌肉肥厚并纤维化,欠缺弹力而形成无力,最终损害膀胱机能。

      (六)肾脏功能损害:严重的前列腺胀大,甚至会使尿液逆流到肾脏,造成肾水肿、尿毒症、甚至肾衰竭。

      (七) 前列腺炎亦是前列腺胀大的常见并发症。

      目前医学上认为良性前列腺胀大不会转变为前列腺癌,但两种疾病可能同时发生。

      9
      • 定期健康检查,每年应至少做一次肛门指诊及前列腺特异抗原(PSA)检查。
      • 避免久坐不动,更不要经常忍尿。
      • 注意饮食健康,减少进食高胆固醇或刺激性食物。
      • 进行恒常及适度的运动。
      • 减少饮用含有咖啡因及酒精的饮品。
      • 睡前减少喝水,有助舒缓夜间尿频的症状。
      • 不要自行服用伤风、咳嗽、感冒或收鼻水药,因为此类药物能同时收紧尿道,因而加重良性前列腺胀大的症状。
      回上
      本地及海外支援组织
      • NHS, UK
      回上
      相关录音片段
      回上
      相关录像影片
      回上
      回上