Bladder Cancer

Bladder cancer is a common cancer in Hong Kong. There are about 400 new cases in a year, with obviously more male patients than female patients. The ratio is 3:1 and it is common among people aged between 55 and 70. If bladder cancer is diagnosed at an early stage, the prognosis is good, but bladder cancer is particularly easy to recur. For this reason, those who have recovered need to go for follow-up checks regularly.

(Special thanks to Dr. HC CHENG, Associate Consultant, Department of Clinical Oncology, Queen Elizabeth Hospital for reviewing the information of this page.)

 

1

The bladder is a hollow organ in the lower abdomen that stores urine. When the process of cell growth inside the lining of the bladder goes wrong, bladder cancer may be caused.

Most of the bladder tumours are like small mushrooms, appearing first in the innermost layer of the bladder, called nipple tumours. After some period, they will spread to the muscular wall of the bladder and other parts of the body.

2
  • Smoking
    The chance of smokers getting bladder cancer is 2 to 3 times higher than that of non-smokers.
  • People having frequent contact with chemicals
    People who work in the rubber, chemical, dyeing, paints, leather & printing industries are at risk.People who often use hair dyes also fall in this category.
  • People with frequent cystitis
    People with bladder problems or cystitis stand a higher chance of getting bladder cancer.
  • Family history
    People with family members who have a bladder cancer are more likely to get the disease.
  • Gender
    Males
3
  • Quit smoking and avoid second-hand smoking
  • To eat fresh food rather than preserved food or food with preservatives
  • To drink more water
  • To eat more fruit and green vegetables
  • To avoid contacting dyes and organic solutions
  • Preventive measures for whom working in textile, dyeing, leather, chemical, agricultural and printing industries, such as wearing gloves, masks and reain shoes, etc.
4

There are no known causes for bladder cancer, but it is found that absorbing cancer causing materials for a long time is one of the causes. Materials include chemicals in cigarettes.After those materials undergo metabolism inside the body, some will be excreted through the urine. and the bladder membrane will be in contact with them, which cause abnormal cell growth inside the bladder.

Furthermore, in places where Schistosomiasis (a kind of parasite causing cystitis) prevails, the cases of bladder cancer are more.Frequent consumption of preserved food or food with nitrite enhaces the risk of getting bladder cancer.

5

相片 Some of the symptoms of bladder cancer are identical to those of cystitis, bladder stone or kidney stone, and the commonest symptoms are haematuria. This may not cause pain and in the early stage, it may occur every now and then. When the situation worsens, there may be blood clods in the urine, making one feel pain when one urinates or causing one unable to urinate. Should the tumour erode the neck of the bladder, the patient will develop urinary frequency and have difficulty in urinating or will feel the urinating being blocked.

6
相片

If you suspect that you have got bladder cancer, a urine test is suggested.  For men, rectal examination will be performed.. For women, rectal examination and vaginal examination should be performed. The urine sample is sent to the laboratory to check if there are cancer cells. If necessary, a urologist will conduct a further examination including:

i.  Cystocope and Biopsy

This examination may need local or general anesthesia. The doctor inserts a thin, lighted tube to look directly into the bladder to examine the lining of the bladder.Samples of tissue can be removed with the cystocope for further examination and pathological analysis.

ii. Intravenous pyelogram

This can identify abnormal conditions of the kidney, bladder and the urinary system. The doctor injects dye which is excreted in the urine, enabling the doctor to see conditions in the kidney, the urethra and the bladder on X-rays.

The dye may cause the the patient a short period of burning feeling, blushing but it rarely causes death.
If it is confirmed that the patient has got bladder cancer, the patient has to go through blood tests, thoracic X-ray examination and the following examinations. They are for identifying the stages of the cancer growth, which is thus used to decide on the treatment plans.

iii. Computer Scan

To scan the abdomen and pelvis from different angles, locating precisely where the tumor is and its size. The patient needs to drink a special dye.  The process takes more than 10 minutes. 

iv. Radioistopes Bone Scan

This is to check if the cancer cells have spread to the skeletons. During the examination, the medical staff will inject a small dose of radioisotopes into the blood vessel of the patient’s arm. They will then measure the small amount of radioactive index inside the body. The cancer affected skeleton will show a large amount of radioactivity and the doctor is to judge if the cancer has spread. The injected dose of radioisotopes is so small that it will not cause the patient to carry radiation.

v. Ultra-sonic Abdomen and Pelvic Scan

This is to synthesize the image of the abdomen and the pelvis. The patient has to drink a large quantity of liquid to blow up the bladder. This test needs a few minutes and the patient has to stop eating or drinking 4 hours prior to examination.

7

 相片 If the bladder cancer is at its early stage, which means the cancer tumor has not yet eroded the muscule of the bladder, the cystocope may be used to scrub off the cancer cells.  The doctor can also consider filling the bladder directly with anti-cancer drygs, or using B.C.G. immunotherapy:

1. Transurethral Removal of Bladder Tumour – TURBT
The doctor uses the cystocope to remove the bladder tumor inside the inner lining of the bladder, and uses a small amount of electricity to cauterize the wound to stop the bleedings. For a few days after the surgery, the patient may experience hae-maturia.

2. Intravesical Chemotherapy
With a soft tube, the doctor inserts anti-cancer drugs into the inner lining of the bladder via the urethra. The drugs may cause the inner lining to inflame, thus making the patient feel pain or have urinary frequency.

3. BCG Intravesicle Immunotherapy
The vaccine may cause reaction in the bladder, stimulating the immune system to reduce the number of cancer cells. The treatment is carried out in 6 weeks, with weekly instillation. During the treatment, the medical staff use a catheter to insert liquid vaccine directly into a bladder. In due course, there may appear some side effects, namely heamaturia, coughing, fever, chills, vigor, nausea, urinary frequency, feeling pain on urinating and skin rash, etc., but these will disappear gradually.                                                        

4. Cystectomy
Should cancer cells have eroded the bladder muscle, the doctor will consider removing parts of the bladder or the whole of it. It is then necessary to create a stoma at the paitient’s abdomen to let the urine pass through. Some patients may create an artificial bladder out of their intestines. At present, this operation can be performed in the form of minimal invasive surgery, replacing a big wound with a few small holes.

If it is decided that the whole bladder to be removed, the male patient has to have his prostate gland, part of the urethra and the lymphatic glands near the bladder removed. The female patient may have her uterus, cervix, the nearby lymphatic and part of the urehtra removed.

5. RadiationTherapy
It is to kill the cancer cells with highenergy radiation. Should a patient be found out not suitable to undergo surgery, he/she may be recommended to have radiotherapy alone or both radiotherapy and chemotherapy at the same time to replace an operation as a radical treatment.

6. Palliative treatment
If the cancer has spread widely, the priority is to reduce the signs and symptoms and to maintain the patient’s quality of the life. The systemic chemotherapy can soothe the signs and symptoms and improve life quality. Radiation therapy can also reduce urinary frequency and haematuria.

7. Artificial Storing of Urine
After the removal of the bladder, the doctor will at once try to create a place for storing urine. Depending on the conditions of the patient, the following methods can be considered:

  • Stoma
    The commonest way is to create an artificial uninary outlet by cutting a part of the intestine and using one of its end to connect the two urethras and the other end protruding out of the abdomen wall. The outlet on the abdomen wall is called a stoma, where a waterproof plastic bag will be fixed with some special glue for collecting urine. The stoma will not form an obstacle to the patient’s normal life, but will affect the patient’s look.
  • bladder reconstruction surgery
    Another method is to make an artificial bladder by cutting a certain length of the intestine. The doctor then reshapes the intestine part into a ball shape bag. He then sews it to the top of the urethra. Thus a new bladder is created and connected to the ureter. The patient can urinate through the urethra as usual, without having to use urine bag.

As the nerves of the patient’s bladder are no longer functioning, he/she may suffer a slight urinary incontinence, especially when he/she is sleeping. After the operation, the male patient may become impotent while the female patient may experience differently during sexual intercourse.

  • Urinary Catheter Operation
    This is similar to that of the stoma. A length of the patient’s intestine is used to make a urine bag which is then placed inside the abdomen. It is connected to a small plastic catheter which passes throguh the stoma, thus allowing the urine to emit. Urine can be relieved 4 to 5 times daily. The patient has to emit the urine manually, but he will not have to carry a urine bag.
8

After receiving chemotherapy or radiation therapy, the patient may suffer different side effects, including:

  • Annal sore
  • Intestines being stimulated, resulting in diarrhoea
  • Cystitis causing urinary frequency and pains on urinating
  • Narrowing of the vagina, making sexual intercourse difficult or uncomfortable
  • Male impotence
  • Fatigue
  • The skin where radiation therapy has applied may cause pains and there is hair loss
  • Nauseating and vomiting
  • Hearing weakens
  • Limb pains and numbness

The above side effects can be soothed with drugs, and they will gradually disappear after the treatments. However, radiation therapy may also cause permanent damages to the intestine and bladder, such as increasing the movement of the intestine, continuous diarrhoea or urinary frequency. After the radiation therapy, the intestine and the blood vessels inside the bladder may become fragile, resulting in haematuria and blood in stool. This phenomenon may occur a few months or years after the radiation therapy and the patient should notify the doctor for examination and treatment. If the pelvis radiation is necessary, there may be permanent effects on the patient’s sexual life or reproduction.

9

1. Regular consultation and follow-up tests
As bladder cancer is easy to recur, the patient should have regular checks at hospital. It is recommended that during the 2 years after treatment, the patient should go for the cystocope examination and then an examination every year. The patient should take care of his/her body conditions and should not hesitate to discuss with or notify the doctor should any change or new signs and symptoms occur.

2. Learn to use the stoma
After the removal of the bladder, the patient has to use the stoma to emit urine. At the beginning, the patient may not adapt to it easily. Actually, most patients with a stoma can have a normal life. Besides carrying on with their work, they can also take part in various activities, including swimming.

The patient should allow himself/herself more time to get used to it. In hospitals, there are usually specially trained nurses called “Stoma nurses”. They are responsible for teaching patients the stoma care and cleaning, and how to tackle problems arising from the use of the stoma. Regarding how to change the urine bags and to clean the stoma, it is advisable for the patient to invite a relative to learn together so that after returning home, the relative can offer help when necessary.

3. Sharing with family members and other patients
The patient may develop depression when he/she has to undergo bladder cancer treatment and the subsequent the side effects. He/she should try to talk more with family members about his/her feelings, which helps ease his/her emotions and pressure of suffering. Furthermore, the patient can participate in some activities organized by patient groups. This will not only enhance his/her understanding of the disease and treatments, but he/she will also come across patients suffering from similar diseases, which enables him/her to share experiences and feelings. Psychologically, he/she gets supports and encouragement.

4. Consulting Specialists
If the patient’s sexual functions and reproduction ability have been affected by treatments, he/she should discuss the situation with the medical staff. If necessary, they will transfer him/her to the specialists concerned or counsellors for professional guidance and support.

5. Caring for health
The patient must quit smoking, eat more fresh fruit and vegetables, avoid high fat and preserved foods, do more exercises and keep fit physically and mentally.

Back To Top
Local and Overseas Supporting Organisations
Back To Top
Related Documents
Back To Top
Related Audio
Back To Top
Related Video
Back To Top
Back To Top

膀胱癌

膀胱癌是香港常見的癌症,每年平均約有四百宗新症,男性患者明顯比女性為多,比例大約為3比1,常見於55歲到70歲的人士身上。膀胱癌如果在早期便被發現,治癒率很高,不過它特別容易復發,因此曾患膀胱癌的人士要定期跟進檢查。

(感謝伊利沙伯醫院臨床腫瘤部副顧問醫生鄭海清醫生審閱本頁內容)

1

膀胱是一個中空的囊狀器官,負責收集和儲存尿液,,位於盤腔內恥骨後面。當膀胱內膜的細胞組織出現病變,便會引致膀胱癌。

大部分膀胱腫瘤像小蘑菇,最先在膀胱內膜表層出現,稱為乳頭狀腫瘤,經過一段時間才會擴散到膀胱的肌肉壁及身體其他部位。

2
  • 吸煙人士: 吸煙者比非吸煙者患膀胱癌的機會,往往高出2至3倍。
  • 經常接觸化學物質的人:經常接觸化工原料,如來自染廠、橡膠、皮革、油漆、印刷、石油和其他有機化學工業的化學物品,會較易患上膀胱癌。經常使用染髮劑,也可能會增加患病風險。
  • 經常患膀胱炎的人:膀胱經常受感染或患膀胱炎的人,患膀胱癌的風險也會增加。
  • 直系親屬曾患上膀胱癌
  • 男性
3
  • 減少吸煙,拒吸二手煙
  • 少吃醃製或含防腐劑的食物
  • 每天多喝清水
  • 多吃水果及綠葉蔬菜
  • 少接觸染劑及有機溶劑
  • 從事紡織、染髮、皮革、化學、農業、印刷業的人,工作時要做好防護措施 (如戴手套、口罩、穿雨鞋等),並定期進行健康檢查
4

醫學界對膀胱癌的成因仍不大清楚,但部分原因與身體長期吸入致癌物質有關,例如香煙內的化學物質或化工原料等。當這些物質在體內經過新陳代謝後,部分會隨尿液排出體外。由於尿液含致癌物質,會令膀胱黏膜長期接觸致癌物,導致膀胱內的細胞出現癌變。

此外,在血吸蟲病(因血吸蟲寄生而引致的膀胱炎)流行的地方,膀胱癌的發病率也較高。經常吃醃製或含亞硝酸鹽的食物,也有可能增加患膀胱癌的機會。

5

相片  膀胱癌部分症狀與膀胱炎、膀胱結石或腎石等相似,最常見的症狀是小便帶血,而且可能沒有痛楚,初時可能會斷續出現。嚴重時會形成血塊、令膀胱感到脹痛及小便不通。如果腫瘤侵蝕膀胱頸的位置,病人會尿頻、小便困難及感到阻塞。

6
相片

如果你懷疑自己患上膀胱癌,醫生會建議你驗尿,男士的話檢查直腸,女士則檢查直腸和陰道。尿液樣本會被送到化驗所,在顯微鏡下觀看有沒有癌細胞。需要時,泌尿科醫生會替你作進一步的檢驗,方法包括:

(一) 膀胱內視鏡與活組織切片
這個檢驗可能需要進行局部或全身麻醉,醫生會把呈細長管子的內視鏡,通過尿道伸入病人的膀胱,管子進入體內的一端附有小燈和鏡頭,可詳細觀察膀胱及尿道的內壁。醫生同時可能刮下一片或數片腫瘤樣本,以便作病理分折。

(二) 靜脈尿路造影術
可驗出腎臟、膀胱及泌尿系統的異常情況,方法是將X光顯影劑注入手臂的靜脈,經血液並由腎臟排出,而醫生會在X光片及螢幕上觀察顯影劑通過腎臟、尿道及膀胱的情形,從中發現是否有異常。

顯影劑會令患者有短暫灼熱感、臉頰發紅、發燙。但很少會引致死亡。如果醫生證實病人患上膀胱癌,病人需要接受驗血、胸部X光檢查及以下的檢驗,來確定癌腫的大小及發展階段,以便進一步釐定治療方案。

(三) 電腦掃描
以不同角度的X光描繪腹腔及盆腔細緻的圖像,可較精確地呈現腫瘤的位置及大小。病人需要飲用一種特製顯影劑,整個過程需時十多分鐘。

(四) 放射性同位素骨掃描
是用來檢查癌細胞有否擴散到骨骼。進行檢驗時,醫務人員會把微量的放射性同位素注射入手臂靜脈,再用儀器掃描病人,量度體內微量的放射性度數。受癌細胞影響的骨骼部位會出現大量的放射性,讓醫生判斷癌症有沒有擴散。注入體內的放射性同位素劑量很微少,不會令病人帶有輻射。

(五) 超聲波肝腹部及盆腔掃描
利用聲波合成腹部及盆腔器官影像。病人檢驗前要喝大量的液體,令膀胱脹滿。這項檢查需時約數分鐘,進行檢查前四小時病人必須停止飲食。

7

 相片  如果膀胱癌屬早期,即癌腫仍未侵蝕膀胱壁的肌肉組織時,一般可以使用膀胱內視鏡刮除癌細胞。 醫生亦會考慮直接用抗癌藥物灌入膀胱,或使用卡介苗免疫療法。

(一) 膀胱鏡腫瘤切除術 (Transurethral Removal of Bladder Tumour- TURBT)
醫生利用膀胱內視鏡把膀胱內壁的腫瘤切除,並用微量電流烙傷口以止血。手術後最初幾天,患者可能會出現血尿的情況。

(二) 膀胱內化學治療 (Intravesical chemotherapy)
醫生利用一根軟管,通過尿道把抗癌藥物直接輸送至膀胱的內壁。藥物可能會引起膀胱內壁發炎,令病人感到疼痛或尿頻。

(三) 膀胱內卡介苗免疫療法(BCG)
這種疫苗能在膀胱內引起局部反應,刺激身體的免疫系統以消滅或降低癌細胞的數目。療程分6星期進行,每星期一次。進行時,醫護人員會利用導管,把液狀的疫苗直接輸入膀胱。在治療期間,病人可能出現一些副作用,例如血尿、咳嗽、發燒、發冷、噁心、尿頻、小便赤痛、皮膚出疹等,但之後會逐漸消失。

(四) 膀胱切除手術
如果癌細胞已侵蝕膀胱肌肉,醫生會考慮把膀胱部分或整個切除,病人同時需於腹部開造口,讓尿液由腹部的造口排出體外,部分病人則可以腸臟再造人造膀胱代替。目前這手術可以微創方法完成,以幾個小孔取代大傷口。

如果決定切除整個膀胱,男性需要同時切除前列腺、部分尿道以及接近膀胱的淋巴腺,女性則可能要切除子宮、子宮頸、附近的淋巴結和部分尿道。

(五) 放射治療
利用高能量輻射,殺滅癌細胞。當病人的癌症不適合作手術治療,醫生可推薦放射治療或同步進行放射治療及化學治療以取代手術作根治性治療。

(六) 紓緩治療
如果癌症已廣泛蔓延,首要目標是減輕症狀,保持病人的生活質素。系统性化學治療 (systemic chemotherapy) 能緩解症狀及改善生活質素。放射治療也能减小尿頻及血尿。

(七) 人工儲尿方法

切除整個膀胱後,醫生會立即替病人建立人工儲尿的地方。視乎病人的情況,有以下方法可供考慮:

  • 人造尿道口
    最常見的做法是開一個人造尿道口。方法是截去一段小腸或大腸,一端連接兩條輸尿管,另一端透過腹部皮膚帶出體外。導管在腹部的出口,叫做造口,會放置一個防水的袋子,用特殊的黏膠固定在身體上以接收尿液。人造尿道口不會妨礙病人的正常生活,但會影響外觀。
  • 膀胱重建手術
    另一個方法是借用一段腸臟來製造一個人造膀胱。醫生把一小段腸臟切下,將它改裝成球狀的袋子,縫合於尿道的頂端,成為新的膀胱,並接上輸尿管。患者可以如常使用尿道排尿,無需使用尿袋。

由於患者的膀胱神經已失去功能,可能會導致輕微失禁,尤其在入睡時較容易發生。手術後,男性通常會不舉,女性在性交時的感覺也會跟以前不同。

  • 尿導管手術
    與人造尿道口相似,醫生會用病人的一段腸子,在腹部內做一個尿袋盛載尿液。連接尿袋的一條小塑膠導管可以穿過造口將尿液排出,一天可排尿四至五次。病人日後需要自己動手排尿,但不必掛著尿袋。
8

病人在接受化學治療或放射治療後,可能有不同的副作用,包括:

  • 肛門四周疼痛
  • 刺激大腸蠕動,導致腹瀉
  • 膀胱發炎造成尿頻和小便刺痛
  • 陰道縮小,造成行房困難或不適
  • 男性不舉
  • 疲倦
  • • 接受放射治療部位的皮膚會疼痛、毛髮脫落
  • 嘔心、嘔吐
  • 聽力減弱
  • 手腳刺痛或麻痺

以上副作用大部分能夠用藥物紓緩,療程結束後會逐漸消失。不過放射治療亦可能對大腸和膀胱造成永久性的影響,令大腸增加蠕動、腹瀉持續,或者經常尿頻。大腸和膀胱內的血管在放射治療後,也可能變得脆弱,造成大小便時帶血。這現象有可能在接受放射治療數月或數年後發生,病人應盡快告訴醫生,進行檢查和治療。

如果需要對骨盆進行放射治療,也可能對性生活或生育造成長期影響。

9

(一) 定期覆診及跟進驗身
由於膀胱癌容易復發,病人應定期回醫院進行檢查。一般建議在接受治療後首兩年,每隔3個月到6個月定期作膀胱內視鏡及檢查,之後每年接受檢查一次。病人平日亦應留意自己的身體狀況,一旦發現有任何異樣或新的症狀,應盡快通知醫生。

(二) 學習使用人造尿道口
如果切除了膀胱,需要以人造尿道口排尿,剛開始可能覺得很不適應。其實大部分病人建立人造尿道口後,都能重過正常生活,不但繼續工作,更可以進行各類活動,包括游泳,病人不妨給自己多些時間去適應。醫院一般都有受過特殊訓練的「人造口護理護士」,指導病人人造口的使用、日常護理、清潔方法及有關問題的應付。在學習更換尿袋及清潔造口時,不妨邀請一位親友一起學習,以便回家後,在有需要時他們可以提供協助。

(三) 與家人及病友分享
治療膀胱癌及面對其副作用時可能會令病人的心情低落,不妨與家人多談感受,有助紓緩情緒和患病的壓力。另外建議病人參加本地的一些病人組織活動,不但有助增加對疾病及治療過程的了解,當中你也可能會認識到相同經歷的病友,大家互相分享經驗和感受,在心理上多一份支持和鼓勵。

(四) 尋找專家意見
如果因為治療而影響性功能及生育能力,不妨向醫護人員訴說自己的情況,有需要時,他們會給你轉介至有關的專家或輔導人員,為你提供專業意見及支援。

(五) 注意健康
病人應立即戒煙,多吃新鮮蔬果,少吃高脂及醃製食物,並且多做運動,保持身心健康。

回上
本地及海外支援組織
回上
相關資料
回上
相關錄音片段
回上
相關錄像影片
回上
回上