Skin Cancer

Skin cancer is a common cancer.  The incidence rate of skin cancer worldwide has been rising rapidly.  Though the rate in Hong Kong is much lower than that in the West, the number of new cases continues to rise each year.  This is probably due to the increased participation in outdoor activities and aging population.  According to the Hong Kong Cancer Registry of Hospital Authority, there were 257 new cases of skin cancer in 2003 and 558 new cases in 2013. Non-melanoma skin cancer, the most common type of skin cancer, has been one of the top 10 cancers in Hong Kong. It rose from the 11th place in 2003 to the 7th in 2013.

While the incidence of skin cancer is high, its mortality rate is not that high.  Since skin is the most visible organ, it is easy for us to detect any abnormalities on the skin.  Hence, skin cancer can be treated early. If you notice any unusual changes in your skin, you should visit your doctor as soon as possible. Early detection increases the chance of successful treatment. 

(Special thanks to Dr. C. C. TONG, Associate Consultant, Clinical Oncology Department, Queen Mary Hospital for reviewing the information of this page)

1

Skin is the body's largest organ. Its major functions include protecting the body against injury, regulating body temperature through sweating, and preventing the body from becoming dehydrated.  The skin has three layers: epidermis (the top layer), dermis (the middle layer) and subcutis (the deepest layer).  The epidermis contains three main types of cells, including basal cells, squamous cells and melanocytes.

In general, healthy new skin cells push older cells toward the skin's surface, where older cells die and are sloughed off.  This process is controlled by DNA.  However, when DNA is damaged, malfunction will occur during the process, which may cause new cells to grow out of control and form cancer. Skin cancer usually develops on parts of the body that are often exposed to the sun, such as face, lips and neck. But it can also form on areas not ordinarily exposed to sunlight, such as palms, soles or the spaces between toes.


 

2

Skin cancers are named after the type of cell they develop from.  There are three major types of skin cancer: basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma (non-melanoma skin cancers) and melanoma.  Other types of skin cancer, such as malignant skin tumors which arise from the sweat glands and hair follicles, are less common.

Basal cell carcinoma (BCC)
Basal cell carcinoma is the most common and most easily treated skin cancer.  It accounts for around 60% of all skin cancers.  It generally occurs in people over age 40.  Most BCCs appear on the head, nose, neck, and upper trunk.  Basal cell carcinoma usually begins as a pearly bump on the face, ears or neck.  When it develops on the chest or back, it appears as a scaly area or a patch of dry skin.  It may bleed or become ulcerated, and then heal and break down again.  It can recur in the same place on the skin.

Basal cell carcinoma usually grows slowly and almost never spread.  However, if left untreated, it will grow deeper into the skin and damage nearby structures.  This may make treatment becomes more difficult.

Squamous cell carcinoma (SCC)
About 30% of skin cancers are squamous cell carcinomas and most of them occur after age 50.  They usually begin as red nodules or ulcers and commonly appear on sun-exposed areas of the body such as the head, neck, hands and forearms.  They can also develop on the upper trunk and legs.  SCCs on lips or ears are more aggressive and are more likely to spread.

Melanoma
Although melanoma accounts for only 10% of all skin cancers, it is the most serious form and the one responsible for most skin cancer deaths.  Melanoma cells can grow fast and spread quickly to other body parts such as lungs, liver or brain even at early stages.

When melanoma occurs in Asian people, it usually develops on areas not normally considered to be sun-exposed, such as the soles, palms, fingernail beds or mucous membranes, etc.  Melanoma can start as a new pigmented spot on the skin.  It can also begin as a change in the size, shape or color of an existing mole or speckle.  The process may take several weeks to several months.  A melanoma usually has an irregular shape, a ragged border and uneven color. It raises above the surface of the skin and looks like a dirt. It can grow fast and have satellite lesions. You should see your doctor right away if you notice any of these characteristics. 
 

3

Research shows that 80% of skin cancers are preventable. The best way to prevent skin cancer is to protect your skin from the sun.  Here are some tips:

* Try to avoid the sun:
  - when the UV Index is 3 or above
  - between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. when the sun rays are strongest

* Use sunscreen with sun protection factor SPF15+ and PA++ on all exposed skin, including the lips. Apply sunscreen 30 minutes before going out into the sun and reapply every 2 to 3 hours. SPF15 absorbs 93 % of UV radiation whereas SPF30 absorbs 97%. 

* Seek shade from trees, umbrellas, or any type of canopy.

* Wear a broad-brimmed hat, sunglasses, and dark, tightly woven clothing that covers your arms and legs.

* Avoid tanning beds and sunlamps.

* Be aware of sun-sensitizing medications. Some prescription and over-the-counter drugs can make your skin more sensitive to sunlight. These include certain high blood pressure, diabetes medications and acne medicines. Ask your doctor about the side effects of any medications you take. Take extra precautions if they increase your sensitivity to sunlight.

* Check your skin regularly. Examine your skin for changes in existing moles.  Check if they have changed in size, shape or color. With the help of mirrors, check your face, neck, scalp, back, hands, forearms, legs, feet, soles, and between your buttocks.

4

Skin cancers are mainly caused by exposure to ultraviolet (UV) radiation from the sun or other sources such as tanning machines in solariums. UV light is divided into three wavelength bands: UVA, UVB and UVC. UVB rays are responsible for many basal cell and squamous cell cancers. UVA also contributes to skin cancer, especially melanoma. Tanning beds deliver high doses of UVA and thus increase the risk of melanoma.

The damage caused by UV rays builds up over time. Even without causing sunburn, prolonged sun exposure over the years will cause damage to the skin tissue. Research shows that sun damage to skin cells can begin in childhood. Individuals who continue to receive excessive sun exposure without apt protection in adulthood can cause the already damaged skin cells to develop cancer.

Skin cancer can also occur on areas of the skin not ordinarily exposed to sunlight.  Heredity may play a role.

Anyone can get skin cancer, regardless of their skin color. You need to be especially careful if you:

 - have numerous moles
 - have pigmented spots (solar keratosis)
 - have a family history of melanoma
 - work outdoors under sunlight for a long period of time
 - have a history of sunburns, especially having skin peeling after severe sunburns
 - have fair skin that burns easily and doesn’t tan
 - have red or blond hair and light-colored eyes
 - have a weakened immune system due to HIV/AIDS or after an organ transplant
 - have fragile skin, such as skin that has been burned, injured or weakened by treatments for other skin      conditions, e.g. certain psoriasis treatments and eczema creams
 - have constant exposure to toxic chemicals

5

相片 Different types of skin cancer can look different. The most common symptoms are:

 - A new spot that is different from other spots on the skin around it.
 - A lesion that is itchy, painful or becomes inflamed.
 - A sore that does not heal.
 - A mole or spot that gets bigger, changes shape or color.
 - Be on the lookout for moles that:
           - have one half unlike the other half
           - have irregular or indistinct border
           - have many colors or an uneven distribution of color
           - are over 6 mm in diameter or get bigger
           - are raised from the skin with irregular shape

6

相片 If you notice any suspicious spots or moles, consult your doctor immediately. If your doctor suspects that you might have skin cancer, he or she will suggest that you have a biopsy. The procedure is quick and simple. You will have a local anesthetic; the doctor will remove a small sample of your skin from the suspicious area. You will then have a stitch or stitches to help the wound to heal. The sample will be sent to a laboratory where a pathologist will examine it under a microscope. It will take around a week to get the test results.

7

相片 Treatment for skin cancer varies, depending on the size, type, location and stage of the cancer. Doctors will adopt appropriate treatment according to the conditions of the disease.

Surgery
Sometimes all of the skin cancer is removed during biopsy and no further treatment is needed.  If the cancer is large or has spread beyond the skin surface, more tissue will need to be removed.

Mohs surgery
This is microscopically controlled surgery that allows the cancer cells to be removed without taking an excessive amount of healthy tissue. The skin growth is removed layer by layer and examined under the microscope immediately. The removal continues until no cancer cells remain. This procedure is used to treat large skin cancers that have penetrated into the skin or have recurred.  It is also used for skin cancers in areas that are difficult to treat, like near the eye.

Cryosurgery
Cryosurgery is often used for people who are not able to have other types of surgery.  It is a freezing technique. Liquid nitrogen is sprayed over the growth on the skin to freeze and kill the cancer. The wound will be sore and red for a few days and may develop a blister. The dead tissue will later fall off. Healing can take up to a few weeks.  The treatment may leave a white scar.  

Electrodessication and curettage
This is common in treating superficial basal cell cancers.  A local anesthetic is given around the lump or spot, and the cancer is scooped out with a curette.  Electric current is then applied to stop bleeding in the area and to destroy any remaining cancer cells.  The wound will heal within a few weeks, leaving a pale scar.

Chemotherapy
This treatment is often used when the skin cancer is too large for surgery.  In general, anticancer drugs such as Imiquimod or Fluorouracil (5-FU) are applied directly to the skin to destroy cancer cells by stimulating the body's immune system. Chemotherapy is usually applied one or two times a day for up to six weeks.  The treated skin may become red, itchy, sore, and may scab or flake.  However, these side effects improve over time and it generally does not leave any scar.  

Photodynamic therapy (PDT)
PDT uses a light source and a special cream applied to the skin cancer to kill cancer cells.  It is mainly used to treat cancer on or near the surface of the skin.

First a light sensitive cream is applied to the skin and after a few hours a light is shone on the area.  The treated area will be covered with bandage to protect it from light afterwards.  Sometimes PDT needs to be repeated in 2-4 weeks.  People who have PDT need to avoid direct sunlight for at least six weeks after treatment.  After PDT, the skin normally heals quickly and without leaving a scar.

Some people may experience pain during PDT, particularly if having treatment on the face.  They can have a local anesthetic before the PDT to help ease the pain.

Radiotherapy
Radiotherapy uses one dose or many doses of high-energy rays to kill cancer cells.  It is generally used for older people or when surgery is not possible.  It is also commonly used in areas where surgery could be difficult, such as the eyelid, nose, forehead, ears, or for cancers that have grown too deep into the skin.  It may also be used for recurring cancers.

8
Side effects may occur during treatment period, such as the treated area may become red, swollen and painful.  However, these side effects will improve over time.  If a large area of skin has to be removed and the wound cannot be stitched, a skin graft or a reconstructive surgery is needed to repair the area.
9

In general, basal cell carcinoma and squamous cell carcinoma have a better prognosis. Melanomas have a higher risk of recurrence. Skin cancer patients should keep all follow-up appointments.  To prevent recurrence of the disease, they should also examine the skin regularly for any unusual moles, spots or sores that do not heal.

After surgery or treatment, it is important to follow the doctor's advice on bathing, exercise or other activities.  Skin cancer patients can participate in outdoor activities; just be sure to take sun exposure precautions.  Surgery nearly always leaves some type of scar.  You don't have to worry about what others will think of the scar. Participating in social activities as usual and this can help to relieve emotional distress. 

Research shows that antioxidants in food such as beta-carotene and Vitamin E help protect against UV skin damage and prevent skin cancer.  Foods that are rich in beta carotene include carrots, sweet potatoes, papaya and apricot, etc.  Besides, foods with rich Vitamin E include olive oil, leafy green vegetables, wheat germ, beans, berries and nuts.

Back To Top
Local and Overseas Supporting Organisations
Back To Top
Related Documents
Back To Top
Related Audio
Back To Top
Related Video
Back To Top
Back To Top

皮膚癌

皮膚癌是常見的癌症之一,而且全球發病率正急速上升。香港的發病率雖遠較西方低,但每年的發病數字亦不斷上升,這可能與大家多參與戶外活動及人口老化有關。據醫院管理局香港癌症資料統計中心的數字顯示,香港在2003年有257宗皮膚癌的新症,在2013年則有558宗新症,數字上升接近一倍;以較常見的非黑色素瘤皮膚癌(Non-melanoma Skin Cancer)為例,於2003年香港十大常見的癌症中,排名第十一,到了2013年則上升至第七位。

雖然皮膚癌的發病率高,幸好死亡率不算特別高,因為皮膚是最易觀察得到的器官,出現癌變時也較易注意到。無論如何,大家一旦發現皮膚上有任何不尋常的異變,應及早求醫,有助增加治癒的機會。

(感謝瑪麗醫院臨床腫瘤科副顧問醫生唐志聰醫生審閱本頁內容)

1

皮膚在我們日常生活中有幾個重要的作用,包括保護身體以免受傷,透過排汗以降低體溫,防止身體脫水。皮膚是身體最大的器官,其結構分為三層:最外層的是表皮、深層的真皮及皮下組織。皮膚表皮由三種細胞構成,包括基底細胞、鱗狀細胞及黑色素細胞。

在新陳代謝的過程中,舊細胞會被健康的新細胞推向表皮,然後死亡及脫落。整個過程受DNA控制,但當DNA受損時,新細胞會不受控地生長,形成癌症。皮膚癌大部分出現於陽光照射得到的位置,如臉、唇、頸等,但手掌、腳掌或腳趾縫等不常接觸到陽光的部位也有可能患上。

2

皮膚癌的名稱是按出現癌變的細胞而命名的,最常見的有三種,包括基底細胞瘤、鱗狀細胞瘤(兩者統稱為非黑色素瘤皮膚癌)及黑色素瘤皮膚癌。其他皮膚癌病,如汗腺和毛囊出現的皮膚癌則很罕見。

(一) 基底細胞瘤 (Basal Cell Carcinoma, BCC)

基底細胞瘤是最常見的皮膚癌,約60%的皮膚癌都屬此類,也是最易治療的一種,患者大多是40歲以上的人士。基底細胞瘤常見於頭、頸和上身的外皮,鼻子也是常見的部分。發病部位的面積不大,在臉、耳或頸出現,大多像一粒珍珠;如果於胸背出現的話,則會呈鱗狀或像枯死的皮塊。患處有時會出血,甚至出現潰瘍,結痂後又會再復發。
基底細胞瘤增生較慢,亦較少擴散,但不治療的話,會進入皮膚內部,侵害鄰近組織,令治療變得困難。

(二) 鱗狀細胞瘤 (Squamous Cell Carcinoma, SCC)

鱗狀細胞瘤的發病率約佔皮膚癌的30%,患者多為50歲以上人士。患處一般會呈紅斑、小結節或潰瘍,多出現於經常被陽光照射的部位,例如頭、頸、手和前臂等,但有時亦會在上身和腿部出現。如果出現在嘴唇或耳朵等位置,侵害性較高,也較易擴散。

(三) 黑色素瘤 ( Melanoma)

黑色素瘤癌雖然只佔皮膚癌的10%,卻是最嚴重的皮膚癌,死亡率亦是全部皮膚癌之冠。患者的癌細胞會迅速生長,通常在患病初期已有擴散的跡象,可以擴散至肺、肝或大腦。
亞洲人的黑色素瘤癌常出現於陽光不易照射到的位置,例如腳掌、手掌、指甲床或黏膜薄膜等。初起時皮膚上會冒出一個新斑點,或是身體上原有的斑點或痣產生變化,例如面積擴大、形狀改變或顏色轉變,過程由數星期至數個月。黑色素瘤的形狀一般不規則,表面凹凸不平,驟看以為是污跡,顏色亦不一,又或傷口呈衛星狀,有可能急速增大。若出現這些情況,便應立即到醫生處檢查。

3

有研究證明80%以上的皮膚癌是可以預防的。大家想預防皮膚癌,最重要是避免被陽光直接照射皮膚,要訣包括:

‧ 以下情況須特別提高警覺,盡量避免讓陽光直接照射皮膚:

  1. 紫外線指數偏高(3以上)的日子
  2. 上午11時至下午3時,因為這時候陽光最猛烈

‧ 外出前半小時,在外露的皮膚包括嘴唇塗上陽光保護指數SPF15+及PA++的防曬油,之後每2-3小時塗一次。陽光保護指數SPF 15可阻擋93%的紫外線,SPF 30則可阻擋97%的紫外線。

‧ 陽光猛烈時,盡量留在有遮蔭的地方,或用太陽傘遮擋陽光。

‧ 如需長時間逗留在陽光下,應戴寬邊帽子及太陽眼鏡,並穿著長袖衣物。選擇深色及高密度的布料可有效阻擋紫外線。

‧ 不要用人工曬燈床或太陽燈來照射。

‧ 部分藥物(包括成藥)有可能令皮膚對陽光變得敏感,如一些降血壓、治療糖尿病或暗瘡的藥物,最好向你的醫生詢問清楚,必要時加強防曬措施。

‧ 定期檢查皮膚,看看身上痣的大小、形狀和顏色有沒有突然改變。檢查可由臉部、手背及前臂開始,之後再檢查足部及腳掌,並用鏡子檢查頸後和頭皮之間、背脊和屁股等位置。

4

皮膚癌主要由紫外線(Ultraviolet,簡稱UV)引起,紫外線的主要來源是陽光,其次是健身美容時所照射的紫外光燈。紫外線有3個波長,其中UVB是引致基底細胞瘤及鱗狀細胞瘤的主兇,而UVA則容易引致黑色素瘤癌,人工曬燈床釋放大量UVA,所以引致黑色素瘤癌的風險亦特別高。

紫外線對皮膚的損害是累積的,即使表面沒有被曬傷,但經過長年累月在戶外接觸陽光,皮膚組織已受損。有研究顯示,皮膚細胞在兒童時可能已受損,假如成年後仍不適當地保護,繼續任意曝曬,便會令本已受損的細胞產生癌變。


有些不常接觸陽光的部位也會患上癌症,這可能與遺傳有關。


任何膚色的人都可能患上皮膚癌,假如你屬於以下類別,便要份外小心:

‧ 身上的痣特別多
‧ 身上有色斑(稱為日光性角化病)
‧ 家族中曾有人患過黑色素瘤癌
‧ 長時間在烈日下工作
‧ 經常曝曬,尤其曾曝曬至脫皮
‧ 膚色白晳,曬不黑但容易灼傷
‧ 紅髮或金髮,眼睛顏色較淺
‧ 免疫系統弱,例如曾接受器官移植或愛滋病測試呈陽性反應的人
‧ 皮膚曾燒傷或受傷,又或曾接受其他皮膚病的治療,例如需要塗濕疹或牛皮癬藥
‧ 經常接觸化學致癌物質

5

相片 不同的皮膚癌有不同的徵狀,以下是比較常見的:

‧ 皮膚上發現新的斑塊,看上去和附近的斑點不同

‧ 患處痕癢、疼痛或發炎

‧ 傷口長期無法癒合

‧ 痣或斑點變大、變形或變色

‧ 當身上的痣出現以下情況時要特別小心:
    (一) 外觀不對稱
    (二) 邊緣不規則或模糊不清
    (三) 顏色不均勻、深淺不一
    (四) 大小超過六厘米或有變大的情形
    (五) 表面有不規則的隆起現象

6

相片 大家如發現有可疑的斑點或痣,應盡快到醫生處作診斷。如醫生懷疑你患的是皮膚癌,會建議於該部位作活組織切片檢查,以便進一步檢驗。

活組織切片是一個簡單的手術,很快便完成。醫生會先麻醉有懷疑的部位,將該處的組織切出來,之後再縫一至兩針便可以。組織會被送到化驗所,由病理學專科醫生用顯微鏡觀察,大約一星期便會有結果。

7

相片  醫生會視乎癌腫的大小、類型、位置及發展階段等,替病人採取合適的治療方法。

(一) 外科手術

醫生有時候在替皮膚癌患者進行活組織切片診斷時,就已經把癌變部分切除,不需再用其他方法治療。但如果癌腫較大,或已由表皮擴散到體內,便要割除更多組織。

(二) 莫氏手術 (Mohs Surgery)

這方法屬微創手術,可避免在手術時,把健康組織也切除。醫生會逐層逐層為患者切除癌腫,每切一小塊皮膚,便會在手術室的顯微鏡下觀察,直到最後切下的皮膚不再發現癌細胞。這方法主要用於治療大面積的皮膚癌,尤其是已深入皮下或復發的癌腫,有時候亦會用於切除敏感部位的皮膚癌,例如眼球附近。

(三) 冷凍治療

冷凍手術通常用於無法進行其他手術的患者,方法是用超低溫的液態氮噴射癌腫部位,凍死癌組織和附近的皮膚。手術後最初幾天,傷口會疼痛、紅腫,甚至起泡,凍死的組織隨後會自動脫落,約數星期後,傷口便會癒合,但可能會留下一個白色的疤痕。

(四) 燒灼術 

主要用來治療表層的基底細胞瘤,醫生會先局部麻醉隆起或有斑點的皮膚,再用類似小匙的刮除刀,將癌腫挖出來,最後在傷口處通電,進行電灼,幫助止血和殺死殘餘癌細胞。傷口在幾個星期後可以癒合,手術後可能會留下淺色的疤痕。

(五) 化學治療

一般於患處面積太大而無法開刀時使用,方法是把藥物如Imiquimod乳膏或5-fluorouracil塗在患處,藉刺激身體的免疫系統,殺死癌細胞。通常一天塗1至2次,可連續使用但不多於6個星期,它會使患處變紅、痕癢、疼痛、結痂或脫皮,但皮膚會逐漸適應,副作用亦會減輕,通常不會留下疤痕。

(六) 光動力治療 (Photodynamic therapy, PDT)

是一種結合光源及藥膏的治療方法,將對光特別敏感的乳劑塗在癌變的皮膚上,再用光源照射以殺死癌細胞,主要是治療皮膚表面或接近皮膚表面的癌症。

方法是先把專用的乳劑塗在患處,幾小時後,乳劑開始發揮作用,便用光源照射癌腫,照射完畢後再用膠布和紗布裹住患處。治療有時需重複進行2至4個星期,才會有較好的效果。患者於接受治療後至少六星期內,要避免讓患處接觸陽光。治療後一般不會留下疤痕,傷口也很快可以癒合。

病人在接受治療時,可能會感到痛楚,尤其若癌腫位於臉部。有需要時病人可要求醫生進行局部麻醉,以減輕痛楚。

(七) 放射治療

放射治療是使用一個或多個高能量放射光束照射癌腫部位以殺死癌細胞,最常用於無法接受手術或年紀較大的人士身上,又或難以動手術的敏感部位,例如癌腫位於眼皮、鼻子、前額、耳朵或已擴散到皮膚內層。若癌症復發,也可能會用放射線治療來移除癌腫。

8

選用不同的治療方法,在治療期間也可能會出現一些副作用,例如患處的皮膚會紅腫、疼痛等,但這些副作用會逐漸減輕。若患處面積較大,以手術進行切除後,傷口可能無法直接縫合,便需要進行植皮或整形重建手術,盡量減少對外觀的影響。

9

一般來說,基底細胞瘤及鱗狀細胞瘤的病人康復的進度較佳,但曾患過黑色素瘤的病人,復發機會較高,更需定期覆診跟進。病人亦應經常檢查身上有沒有出現異常的痣、斑點或難以癒合的傷口,提防皮膚癌復發。

手術或治療後,病人應遵照醫生的指示進行沐浴、運動或其他日常活動。康復後可在戶外活動,但要做足防曬措施。此外患者不宜因手術留有疤痕,害怕別人的異樣目光而疏遠人群,應保持正常的社交活動,這對紓緩情緒其實也有幫助。

另外有研究顯示,食物中的抗氧化劑如胡蘿蔔素及維他命E等,有助減低紫外線對皮膚的傷害,防止皮膚癌。含豐富胡蘿蔔素的食物包括紅蘿蔔、蕃薯、木瓜及杏等,而橄欖油、深綠色蔬菜、小麥胚芽、豆類及堅果類等食物則含大量的維他命E。

回上
本地及海外支援組織
回上
相關資料
  • 皮膚原發性或擴散放射治療
回上
相關錄音片段
回上
相關錄像影片
回上
回上