Non-medical Treatment

Non-medical treatments of dementia are just as important as medical treatments.

The effect of non-medical treatment, including cognitive training, reality orientation, confirmation therapy, multi-sensory stimulation and other psychological and behavioural treatments, has been proven in academic literatures. These treatments can improve the emotional and behavioural problems of patients, slow down the degradation of cognitive abilities as well as enhance the quality of life.

Non-medical treatment and diverse activities provide dementia patients with suitable training and meaningful activities to keep stimulating the brain and slow down deterioration. Through carefully planned activities, patients can enjoy thorough care for their physical and emotional conditions as well as their social life so as to enhance their quality of life.

 
  • Reality orientation
    It is a treatment that is carried out with the help of some special skills and methods. Environmental prompts will be used to help patients receive messages from the real environment and reduce mental confusion, so that they can achieve optional functionality in everyday life, stay informed and avoid being out of touch of reality.
  • Reminiscence therapy
    It is easy to integrate reminiscence activities with everyday life and conversations. This can be conducted through interviews or group sharing. Use familiar items from the past (such as old pictures, clothes, music or books) to encourage patients to recollect their past in an organized manner to foster their confidence, communication and exchange with others.
  • Sensory stimulation therapy
    Due to damage to neurons and cognitive functions, dementia patients may find themselves unable to understand the surrounding environment. Provide suitable sensory stimulations, such as presenting some meaningful or familiar scents, motions, feelings, videos, sounds and flavours, to reduce their anxiety and confusion.
  • Memory training
    The damage of hippocampus in the brain causes memory loss, which can be slowed down through encouraging patients to engage in different learning activities, such as reading, playing mahjong, card games, chess or watching movies they enjoy.
  • Art and craft
    Patients can enjoy the fun and sense of accomplishment from creating something out of simple steps, through which they can enhance their self-esteem and express their thoughts and feelings.
  • Birthday parties, festival celebrations and outdoor activities
    Bring groups of patients and their caregivers together at the activity centres through festival events and birthday parties so that they can offer mutual support and care for one another as well as feel loved and treasured.

Physiotherapy

(1) Early to middle stage

1. Maintain physical mobility and the ability to walk
Early and middle stage dementia patients can still walk freely. Appropriate exercises can help them maintain physical strength and the extent of limb movement, increase their muscle volume and enhance hand-foot coordination for a higher quality of life. Given their deteriorating memory, patients can formulate exercise timetable with their families as a reminder for regular exercise.
Bend forwards
Bend backwards
Bend left and right
Turn left and right
Turn left and right
Bend left and right
Upward arm lift
(Use an umbrella or a water bottle)
Side arm lift
Elbow flexion and extension
Wall push
Closed fist and open hand
Half squat
March on the spot
Outward leg raise
Knee joint extension
Standing heel and toe raises

2. Use of walker
Middle stage dementia patients will slowly experience decline in their walking ability. After the evaluation of physiotherapist, patients can use suitable walkers to assist walking, improve their ability to walk and reduce the risk of falling.

Walking stick

Four-legged walking stick

Walker

Wheeled walker

(2) Late stage

Late stage dementia patients will lose their mobility completely. Caregivers should learn lifting techqiues properly as well as joint stretching to help prevent the onset of joint stiffness and enhance mobility. Family and caregivers should contact physiotherapists for more details.
1. Caregiver training
Lifting techniques
Lifting by one person
Lifting by two people
Passive exercise
Upper limb
Lower limb


Occupational Therapy

The roles of occupational therapists at memory clinics is to help patients and caregivers reduce the problems brought by memory loss and alleviate the burden of caregiver so as to make patients able to remain independent in everyday life and their lives more delightful.

1. Therapists conduct professional cognitive assessment for patients.

2. Instruct caregivers on the right communication skills and provide suggestions for the everyday routine arrangement.

3. Provide suggestions for improvement in living environment to reduce the dysfunction of patients and promote home safety.

4. Instruct caregivers in assisting patients in suitable memory training and reminiscence activities.
Memory training


Photo review


More relevant information (Chinese Version Only)

Copyright © 2022 Hospital Authority. All rights reserved.
Last Update: 24/6/2022

非藥物治療

認知障礙症的非藥物治療與藥物治療是同樣重要。

很多學術文獻已證實多種非藥物治療的方法,包括﹕認知訓練、現實導向、確認治療、多感官刺激及其他心理行為治療等,均能有效地改善患者的情緒和行為問題。減慢患者各方面機能的退化和提升生活質素。

透過非藥物治療的方法,以多元化的活動為認知障礙症患者提供合適的訓練和有意義的活動,從而保持大腦刺激延緩退化速度。透過精心設計的活動訓練,使患者在身體,情緒及社交方面得到全面的照顧,改善生活質素。

 
  • 現實導向
    是透過一些特別的技巧或方法進行治療。運用環境提示幫助接收現實環境的訊息,減低精神混亂,幫助患者在日常生活上達致最高功能,保持與現實接觸,避免脫節。
  • 懷緬治療
    懷緬活動容易融合於生活及日常交談,可藉個別面談或小組分享進行。使用患者昔日熟悉的物件(如﹕舊相片、衣服、音樂、書籍……等)鼓勵患者有組織地回想及討論往事來增強患者的信心,以及促進與別人溝通和交往。
  • 感官刺激治療
    因為認知障礙症病患者神經元的損壞及感官功能退化,他們難以理解周圍環境,提供合適的感官刺激,如展示一些有意義及熟悉的氣味、動作、感覺、視像、聲音和味道,可減少他們的焦慮和混淆。
  • 記憶訓練
    記憶力衰退的原因是大腦中的海馬體受損,我們從不同的活動去鼓勵患者學習方法去延遲記憶力衰退。如閱讀、打麻雀、打紙牌、棋類活動或觀看喜愛電影等。
  • 美勞與手工藝製作
    患者從簡單的步驟完成製品,令他們感受到製作的樂趣及成功感,從而增加患者的自我價值。患者亦能從活動中自由地表達個人的思想和感受。
  • 生日會、節日慶祝及戶外活動
    藉著不同節日活動及生日會,聯繫小組患者及照顧者,活動中心他們可以互相支持和關懷。使他們感到被重視及愛惜。

物理治療

(一) 早期及中期

1. 保持肢體活動能力和步行
早期及中期患者仍可活動自如,適當的運動可幫助患者保持體力和四肢活動的幅度,增加肌肉量及促進手腳協調,從而提升生活質素。因患者記憶力減退,患者與家人可制定運動時間表,提醒患者定時運動。
向前
向後
左右側
左右轉動
左右轉動
左右側
向前舉高
(可利用雨傘或膠樽)
向側舉高
屈曲及伸直手肘
牆上壓
手指開合
半蹲
原地踏步
向外提起
伸直膝關節
向外提起腳尖及腳跟企

2. 助行器的使用
中期患者的步行能力會逐漸減退,經物理治療師評估後,運用合適的助行器協助患者步行運動,可提高患者的步行能力和減少跌倒。

拐杖

四腳拐杖

助行架

輪子助行架

(二) 晚期

晚期患者會失去完全活動能力。照顧者應學習正確扶抱技巧,以及為患者作適當的關節伸展。可預防關節僵硬及促進患者活動功能。詳情家屬及照顧者可向物理治療師查詢。
1. 照顧者訓練
扶抱技巧
一人扶抱
二人扶抱
被動式運動
上肢
下肢


職業治療

職業治療師在記憶診所擔當的角色是協助病人及照顧者減低因記憶問題所帶來的困擾,減輕照顧者的負擔,令病人保持日常生活的獨立能力,讓生活更愉快。

1. 治療師替病人作出專業的認知能力評估。

2. 指導照顧者對病人正確的溝通技巧,並對生活程序的編排作出建議。

3. 作出改善家居環境的建議,從而減輕病人的功能障礙,提升家居安全。

4. 指導照顧者協助病人進行合適的記憶訓練及懷緬活動。
記憶訓練


相片重溫


更多相關資訊

版權所有© 2022 醫院管理局
更新日期: 4/8/2022