Liver Cancer

is the No.3 cancer killer, following lung cancer and bowel cancer. There are about 1800 new cases annually and about 1500 deaths. Among the new cases 75% are males and the average age of onset of disease is between 63 and 69.

It is relatively difficult to cure liver cancer because the cancer is usually diagnosed in middle or late stage, which affects the cure rate. It is true that prevention is better than cure, so we should get the injection of hepatitis B vaccination, and the hepatitis B carriers should have regular follow-ups to check if there are signs of liver tumors.

(Special thanks to Dr. Darren Poon, Consultant, Clinical Oncology, Prince of Wales Hospital for reviewing the information of this page..)

1

The liver is the largest organ inside the body, and is a very important metabolic organ. It is found on the upper right of the abdomen, comprising the left lobe and the right lobe. The main functions of the liver include:

  • The production and storage of glucose for use when necessary
  • The manufacturing of bile for digesting fats in food
  • The detoxification of toxins and alcohol for excretion
  • The making of proteins, blood-clotting substances, antibodies and cholesterol
  • • When the liver cells begin to mutate and uncontrolled divide, a liver cancer is formed.
2

Liver cancer can be classified into primary liver cancer and metastatic liver cancer. Primary liver cancer is a malignant tumor caused by liver cells, and the commonly known ones are "Hepatocellular Carcinoma" and "Cholangiocarcinoma". Metastatic liver cancer is a liver cancer caused by the spread of cancer cells from the other organs.

3

There are many causes of liver cancer and some of them are still being studied but factors posing higher risks are:

  • Hepatitis B virus:
    55%of the world’s liver cancer is caused by infection with hepatitis B virus. The chance of chronic hepatitis virus carriers getting liver cancer is 100 times higher than the non hepatitis B virus carriers. Hepatitis B is very common in Hong Kong, and it is estimated that one tenth of the Hong Kong population are either hepatitis B virus carriers, or have been infected with the disease. Among these chronic carriers, a quarter of them may develop cirrhosis, which may cause liver cancer.
  • Cirrhosis:
    People infected with hepatitis B virus may develop chronic hepatitis in about 10 years, which may then develop into cirrhosis in another 21 years. It will take 29 years for the cirrhosis to become liver cancer. The actual progress of the disease varies among people and depending on how active the hepatitis viruses are. It is found in the studies that the more active the viruses are, the more quickly the liver cells are damaged, as a result of which, the patient will develop cirrhosis or chronic hepatitis soon. It will take 50 to 60 years to develop liver cancer after
    a patient infected with hepatitis B virus
  • Hepatitis C:
    The chance of chronic hepatitis B carriers and hepatitis C carriers to get liver cancer is 150 times higher. HCV-associated liver cancer is more prevalent in western countries.
  • Heavy alcohol consumption:
    Having excessive alcohol may cause alcohol-related liver hardening, which may then develop into liver cancer. The chance of alcoholic hepatitis B carriers getting liver cell cancer is 2 times higher than the general virus carriers.
  • Non-alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD) and Non-alcoholic Hepatosteatosis (NASH):
    Obesity, diabetes mellitus, and other metabolic disorders may induce liver damage leading to cirrhosis and liver cancer.
  • Toxic food consumption:
    Aflatoxins found in peanuts, corn, nuts and grains are proven to be a cause of liver cancer in animal experiments.
  • Exposure to certain environmental and pollutant hazards for a long time (such as inhaling PVC used in plastics manufacturing factories)
  • Cholangitis or congenital choledochal cyst may lead to bile duct cancer.
4

The following are ways of preventing liver cancer:

  • Don't smoke
  • Limit amount of drinking
  • Regular work and rest, and eat more fruit and vegetables
  • Avoid contracting hepatitis B:
    Should any member of a family be infected with hepatitis B, other members have to check whether they have got hepatitis viruses or if they have developed antibodies after contracting the viruses. If they have not yet been infected, they should take hepatitis B vaccine injections, which must be taken 3 times within 6 months.
  • Use condom and don’t share needles:
    There are 8-10% and 0.5% of the Hong Kong population who are hepatitis B virus and hepatitis C virus carriers respectively. Both types of hepatitis can be transmitted through body fluids, so unprotected sexual intercourses or sharing needles can spread hepatitis B and hepatitis C.
  • Store food properly and be cautious about rotten or contaminated food:
    Certain food such as peanuts, grains and corn may rot, and produce aflatoxins which increases the risk of getting liver cancer. These foods should be stored in places where it is cool and dry to avoid getting rotten.
  • For those who are hepatitis virus carriers must remember to have regular follow-ups, which helps detect the disease at its early stage.
5

Photo    The liver has the wonder of being able to self-repair. Even when only a small part of it remains, the liver can still function normally, so symptoms of a liver cancer at its early stage are not obvious. When the tumor grows larger, the patient can observe the following:

  • Pain in the right side of upper abdomen
  • Pain in the right shoulder: The swollen liver stimulates the nerves of the diaphragm, and the nerves here are connected to the nerves in the right shoulder.
  • Loss of appetite and weight, nausea and drowsiness
  • Lumps in the upper abdomen
  • Yellow skin and eyes, itchy skin: The bile duct is blocked by the tumor, which causes the bile pigment to accumulate in the blood and thus jaundice is caused.
  • Tea color urine and light grey stools
  • Ascites (collection of fluid in the abdomen)
6
High-risk groups and those having the above-mentioned symptoms should consult family doctors to have examinations as soon as possible. The earlier the diagnosis and discovery of the disease, the higher the chance of cure. Relevant checks for liver cancer include the following:Photo

  • Blood tests for alpha-fetoprotein: When liver cancer cells grow continuously, the numeral value of alpha-fetoprotein will be very high. Alpha-fetoprotein is an index for cancer and it helps diagnosis of liver cancer at its early stage.

  • Abdominal ultrasound: Ultrasound is employed to scan the structure of the liver to confirm the size and location of the tumor. This test takes several minutes and the patient must stop drinking or eating four hours before the test.

  • Computer scan: X-ray is used to scan the liver from different angles so as to get a detailed graph, which can display precisely the location and size of the tumor. The patient needs to drink a special contrast dye and the whole process takes more than 10 minutes.

  • Angiogram: To observe the blood flow, the patient is injected with a contrast dye. This test can confirm the location of the tumor and the blood vessels that provide the tumor with nutrition.

  • Magnetic resonance imaging: Magnetic field replaced X-ray to construct a cross-section image of the body so as to observe the location of the liver cancer tumor.

  • Biopsy: The doctor will use a fine needle to obtain tissue of the liver tumor through the skin on his/her right abdomen when patient is under local anesthesia. This is for confirming the type of the tumor cells and deciding whether they are benign or malignant. This test is usually performed together with ultrasound to ensure the needle is inserted at the precise position. This test has small risk of bleeding.
7

Photo    Once the patient is diagnosed to have liver cancer, doctor will generally suggest the following treatments depending on the cancer stage:

(1) Removal by surgery

  • Rationale of treatment: To remove the tumor and the surrounding affected tissues.
  • Suitable for: Removal by radical surgery is suitable for 20% of liver cancer patients whose tumors affect only one of the liver lobes and their liver functions are normal. 62% of them can survive 3 years while 50% of them can survive 5 years.

(2) Trans-arterial Chemoembolization (TACE)

  • Rationale of treatment: This is to block the blood vessels, thus stopping them from providing the tumor with nutrition. This can stop the cancer tumor from growing, which can reduce its size. This can be achieved by injecting drugs into selected blood vessels which are for providing the tumor with nutrition through aorta. This is to block the artery, which monitors the liver cancer, to achieve treatment results and not to affect the normal liver tissues.
  • Suitable for: This is suitable for a patient whose tumor has spread to both sides of the liver but has not yet metastasized to other organs, or a patient whose tumor is limited to one side of the liver but whose liver function, tumor location, tumor size, or tumor number is not suitable for surgery or local ablative treatment.

(3) Injection of alcohol

  • Rationale of treatment: With the help of ultrasound or computer scan, the location of the tumor is confirmed. Then alcohol with 95% concentration is injected directly into the tumor with a thin needle through the skin. The highly concentrated alcohol will dry up the cells and thus kill them.
  • Suitable for: It is suitable for a patient whose tumor is smaller than 3cm or whose number of tumors is less than 3. As the injection can only make the central part of the tumor to wither, which means the neighboring tissues still survive and keep growing, so the patient has to get many injections to ensure the liver cancer cells are killed.

(4) Radiofrequency ablation

  • Rationale of treatment: This is to use localized thermal treatment technique, when temperature reaching 60∘C to destroy the tumor tissues. Depending on the location and size of the tumor, the surgery can be performed through percutaneous or laparotomy. Simultaneously ultrasonography is used to guide the electrode and to monitor the ablation level of the tumor.
  • Suitable for: This is for those who are infected with primary liver cancer and metastatic liver cancer.


(5) Liver transplant

  • Rationale of treatment: This is for those who cannot undergo an operation for the removal of liver. They are patients whose livers function badly, and patients having undergone Transarterial Chemoembolization and injection of alcohol, provided that their tumors are no larger than 5cm. If the tumor has grown to a certain size, it is highly likely that the cancer cells have spread to other parts of the body. If then liver transplant is carried out, the cancer cell will reproduce themselves rapidly in the new liver, which will result in the recurrence of liver cancer.

(6) Selective Internal Irradiation (SIRT)

  • Rationale of treatment: SIRT is a radio-embolization technique in which radioactive microspheres are injected via intravascular catheters into the hepatic artery that supplies the tumor. These microspheres are tagged with Yttrium-90 which is capable of emitting short-distance radiation. Hence, SIRT allows preferential irradiation of the tumor to a high radiation dose without causing excessive damage to the normal liver function. Various studies of SIRT in patients with advanced liver cancers reported response rates (RR) of 20-89%, and a median time-to-progression of 7-12 months.
  • Suitable for: liver cancers that are not eligible for surgery or local ablative therapy. In contrast to TACE, some patients with Portal vein thrombosis, a contraindication for TACE, appeared to tolerate SIRT favorably. Retrospective comparison between SIRT and TACE suggested similar efficacy, but there is no reported randomized controlled trials to compare SIRT and TACE face-to-face.
  • SIRT is contraindicated in patients who have poor liver function or uncontrolled ascites. Pre-treatment assessment with hepatic angiogram and Technetium MAA scan is necessary to evaluate the amount of microspheres uptake in lung, liver, and gastrointestinal tract. Inadvertent delivery of SIR- microspheres to the gastrointestinal tract or pancreas will cause acute abdominal pain, acute pancreatitis, cholecystitis, or peptic ulceration. Excessive shunting to the lung may lead to radiation pneumonitis. Excessive radiation to the normal liver parenchyma may result in radiation hepatitis.

(7) Stereotactic ablative body radiotherapy (SABR)

  • Rationale of treatment: External beam irradiation for HCC was rarely used in the past because of the low radiation tolerance of liver. The risk of radiation induced liver disease (RILD) increases with poor baseline liver function. With growing experience, it is now known that disease control can be possible if high radiation dose can be delivered to the tumor while sparing a sufficient amount of normal liver reserve. Technological advances in Stereotactic ablative body radiotherapy (SABR) through the use of multi-modality image registration, radiation treatment planning, breathing motion management and image guided radiation therapy have significantly increased treatment delivery accuracy and made it possible for ablative doses of radiation to be delivered safely to focally unresectable HCC.
  • Suitable for: patients who are not amenable to undergo surgery or local ablative therapies. It is also indicated in patients who have developed recurrence despite multiple courses of TACE. Patients with Portal vein thrombosis who are not suitable for TACE can also be treated with SABR. Objective response rates are 80-90% in HCCs less than 5 cm in diameter, and in the range of 50-70% in larger cancers. Improved local control and survival have been seen in patients treated with higher doses.

(8) Sytemic therapy & Targeted therapy

  • Before the development of sorafenib, first-line systemic therapies for the treatment of unresectable HCC were lacking. Many randomized-controlled trials had demonstrated that the use of systemic chemotherapy, hormonal compounds, octreotide and interferon in patients with unresectable HCC did not improve survival compared with no treatment.
  • Sorafenib is currently the only targeted therapy approved by the US Food and Drug Administration to be used in patients with unresectable HCC, based on the survival advantage over best supportive care demonstrated in two randomized controlled trials. Sorafenib inhibits the following receptor tyrosine kinases: VEGFR-2, VEGFR-3, PDGFR-b, c-KIT, and Flt-3. Since Sorafenib has the potential to decrease blood flow in the tumor, studies have been initiated to investigate sorafenib as an adjuvant to potentially curative treatments such as resection or local ablation in resectable HCC, or the combination of sorafenib and TACE or SBRT in patients with unresectable HCC.
  • Although sorafenib represents a palliative treatment option for patients with advanced HCC, it also produces toxicities that may significantly affect patients’ quality of life. High rates of dermatologic side effects (Hand foot syndrome), hypertension, fatigue and gastrointestinal discomfort have been reported. Other complications include cardiac ischemia, thyroid dysfunction, bowel perforation, bleeding and hepatitis.
8

Common complications observed among liver cancer patients include:

  • Liver failure: Cancer tissues cause serious damages to a patient's liver, which results in the liver being unable to removed toxins from the body and this will lead to hepatic encephalopathy which is the main cause of death from liver cancer.
  • Kidney failure: The phenomenon of liver cancer leads to kidney failure which cripples the patient's ability to discharge waste from the body.
  • Metastasis of tumor: It is common that tumor cells metastasize to lungs and bones. When it metastasizes to the peritoneum, ascites is caused. Thus the liver cancer near the diaphragm infiltrates directly to the diaphragm and pleura, which may lead to bloody pleural fluid.
9

Patients need to pay attention to a lot of things before and after surgery and during recovery. The more they understand the disease, the more positive they will become when dealing with the disease.

  • Regular follow-ups: Regular follow-ups will be arranged to monitor the liver functions and symptoms of recurrence. Should any new symptoms be found, the doctor should be notified as soon as possible.
  • Diet: To improve appetite and encourage eating

         ‧ Try to absorb proteins (milk, eggs and lean meat) and multivitamins and limit the intake of animal oil.

         ‧ Foods should be easy to digest and plenty of fruit and vegetables are recommended.

  • Exercise: Appropriate exercise but avoid over-exertion.
  • Activities: Avoid visiting crowded places to prevent infections of diseases.
  • 戒To quit alcohol and avoid drugs and chemical substances that may add workload to the liver.
Back To Top
Local and Overseas Supporting Organisations
Back To Top
Back To Top
Related Audio
  • Liver Cancer (I)
  • Liver Cancer (II)
Back To Top
Related Video
Back To Top
Back To Top

肝癌

肝癌(Liver Cancer)是香港第三号癌症杀手,仅次于肺癌及大肠癌。每年新症数目约有一千八百宗,死亡人数约一千五百多人。新症个案当中有7成半是男性,平均发病年龄为六十三至六十九岁。

肝癌的治疗相对困难,主要因为当病人发现患上此病时已届癌症的中晚期,影响治愈率。所以预防胜于治疗,市民应接受乙型肝炎疫苗注射,而乙型肝炎带病毒者更应定期跟进,及早察觉是否患上肝脏肿瘤。

(感谢韦尔斯医院临床肿瘤科顾问医生潘明骏医生审阅本页内容)

1

肝脏是人体最大的器官,也是非常重要的代谢器官。肝脏位于右上腹,分为左右两叶。肝脏的主要功能包括:

  • 生产及储存热量, 以备不时之需
  • 制造胆汁,消化食物中的脂肪
  • 具解毒功能,分解身体内的毒素和废料酒精,然后排出体外
  • 制造蛋白质、血凝素、抗体、胆固醇等身体必需的物质

当肝脏细胞出现异变及不停分裂, 就会形成肝癌。

2
肝癌大致可分为原发性肝癌与转移性肝癌。「原发性肝癌」是由肝脏细胞引发的恶性肿瘤,常见的原发性肝癌有「肝细胞癌」及「胆管细胞癌」;由其他器官的癌细胞扩散到肝脏而引致的肝癌, 称为,「转移性肝癌」。
3

肝癌有很多成因,有些尚在研究中。而较高风险的因素有:

  • 乙肝病毒: 全世界有55%的肝癌是由乙肝病毒传染引致。慢性乙肝病毒携带者患肝癌的机会比非乙肝病毒携带者大约高出100倍。乙型肝炎在香港十分普遍,据估计全港有十分之一的人口是带病毒者,或曾经感染乙型肝炎。在这群长期带病毒者中,有四分之一人会演变成肝硬化, 因此而导致肝癌;
  • 肝硬化: 感染到乙型肝炎的人约在10年后才会出现慢性肝炎;大概再到21年后才会演变成肝硬化;肝硬化之后约29年才会变成肝癌。病情的实际进展因人而异,视乎肝炎病毒的活跃程度。研究发现病毒的活跃性越高时,肝细胞被破坏的速度会越快,所以病人很快便有肝硬化或慢性肝炎.。由感染到乙型肝炎病毒至演变成肝癌约需50至60年的时间;
  • 丙型肝炎: 慢性乙型和丙型肝炎携带病毒者患肝癌的机会大约高150倍;因丙型肝炎而患肝癌者于西方国家较常见;
  • 酗酒: 长期饮酒过量会引起与酒精有关的肝硬化,而肝硬化可演变为肝癌。滥用酒精的乙型肝炎带病毒者患肝癌的机会比一般的带病毒者高2倍;
  • 非酒精性脂肪性肝病(NAFLD) 及非酒精性脂肪肝(NASH): 肥胖, 糖尿病, 及其他代谢紊乱疾病均会使到肝脏损害, 从而导致肝硬化及肝癌;
  • 进食有毒素的食物: 花生及谷类果实中所发现的黄曲霉毒,在动物实验中已被证实可导致肝癌;
  • 长期受到某些环境、污染物侵害 ( 如吸入制胶厂胶厂使用到的聚氯乙烯 )
  • 胆管炎或先天性胆总管囊肿,可引致胆管细胞癌。
4

以下方法可有效帮助大家预防肝癌: 

  • 切勿吸烟;
  • 节制饮酒;
  • 作息定时,多吃蔬菜水果;
  • 避免感染乙型肝炎: 若家中成员患有乙型肝炎,其他成员应及早接受血液检查,以确定是否已感染肝炎病毒或身体接触病毒后是否已产生抗体,若未受感染者应接受乙型肝炎免疫注射,疫苗须在6个月内进行3次注射;
  • 使用安全套,勿共用针筒: 本港的人口中大约有8-10%和0.5%分别为乙型和丙型肝炎带病毒者。乙型和丙型肝炎都可以透过人的体液传染,因此不安全的性行为或共用针筒都可以传播乙型和丙型肝炎。
  • 妥善贮存食物,慎防进食发霉或变坏的食物: 某些食物如贮存在湿热环境中的花生、谷类和粟米等会容易发霉而产生黄曲霉毒素,而黄曲霉毒素可增加患上肝癌的机会。这些食物应贮存在凉快及干爽的地方以防发霉;
  • 乙型肝炎带病毒者,请谨记定期跟进,有助及早察觉是否患病。
5

相片    肝脏具有神奇的自我修复功能,即使只剩下一小部份能够工作,肝脏依然可以正常运作,因此肝癌早期病征并不明显。当肿瘤逐渐增大时,病人可能有下列症状:

  • 右上腹不适、腹痛
  • 右肩疼痛: 肝脏肿大会刺激横隔膜神经,而此处神经正好是连接右肩神经
  • 食欲不振、体重下降、恶心和昏睡
  • 上腹有硬块
  • 皮肤和眼白呈微黄、皮肤痕痒: 因胆管被肿瘤阻塞,令胆汁色素在血液积聚, 引致黄疸
  • 小便呈茶色、大便呈浅灰色
  • 腹部积水
6
高危人士及出现上述征状的人士,应向家庭医生求诊,定期或尽快接受检查,及早诊断和发现能提高疾病的治愈率。肝癌相关检查包括以下各项:相片

  • 血液甲胎蛋白检查: 当肝癌细胞不断增生时,血清中的甲胎蛋白数值会相当高。甲胎蛋白是一种癌症的指标,有助诊断早期的肝癌。

  • 腹部超音波检查: 利用超音波来描绘肝脏的结构,以确定肿瘤的大小和位置。这项检查需时约数分钟,进行检查前四小时病人必须停止饮食。

  • 计算机扫描: 用X光对肝脏作不同角度的描绘以取得肝脏细致的图像,可较精确地呈现肿瘤的位置及大小。病人需要饮用一种特制显影剂,整个过程需时十多分钟。

  • 血管造影检查: 将显影剂注入血管,以X光观察血液流动,此检查可正确地找出肿瘤的位置和提供肿瘤营养的血管。

  • 磁力共振扫描: 以磁场代替X光构成身体的横切面影像,观察肝癌肿瘤位置。

  • 活组织检查: 当病人接受局部麻醉后,医生会用一支幼细的针经右腹皮肤抽取肝瘤少许组织作化验,来确定肿瘤细胞的类型,判别良性或恶性。此检查通常与超声波检查同时进行,以确保针刺位置准确。此检查程序会有出血的风险
7

相片    一经确诊,医生一般会因应病情建议病人采用以下的治疗方法:

(一) 手术切除

  • 治疗原理: 切除肿瘤及附近受影响的组织
  • 适合患者: 根治性手术切除治疗适用于肿瘤只影响其中一边的肝叶,而肝功能正常的病人,约占病人的两成。62%病人会有三年的生存率;而50%病人则可有五年的生存率。

(二) 经肝动脉化疗栓塞法 (TACE)

  • 治疗原理: 阻塞供应营养给肿瘤的血管,使养份无法送达肿瘤,此能阻止肿瘤继续生长或将其体积缩小。方法是将药物经动脉导管注入到那些为肝癌提供营养之血管内,将支配肝癌之动脉栓塞,以达治疗效果,而不至于影响正常的肝组织。
  • 适合患者: 适用于肿瘤已扩散至两边肝脏但还未转移到其他器官的病人;又或肿瘤只局限于肝的一边,而其肝功能, 肿瘤大小, 肿瘤数目都不适合接受手术或作局部消融治疗的病人。

(三) 酒精注射

  • 治疗原理: 在超声波或计算机扫描协助下确定肿瘤位置,将95%浓度的酒精以幼针经皮肤直接注入肿瘤,超浓度的酒精会吸干细胞的水份,杀死癌细胞。
  • 适合患者: 适用于肿瘤小于3厘米或肿瘤数目少于3个的病人。由于注射只能令肿瘤的中间部分枯死,而肿瘤周围的组织却仍然生存和不断增生,所以病人需要接受多次的注射以确保杀死癌细胞。

(四) 射频消融术

  • 治疗原理: 利用电子技术进行局部加热、当温度超过摄氏60度,把肿瘤组织坏死。根据肿瘤大小及位置,可经皮肤穿刺或开腹进行手术,并同时使用超声波引导电极及监视肿瘤的消融程度。
  • 适合患者: 适用于原发性肝癌和转移性肝癌患者。


(五) 肝脏移植

  • 治疗原理: 肝功能十分差,不能接受手术切除、正在接受栓塞化疗及酒精注射的患者,但其肿瘤必须不大过5毫米。因为当肿瘤经已很大,癌细胞极有可能已扩散至身体其他地方,若进行肝脏移植,手术后癌细胞会迅速在新的肝脏进行繁殖,引致肝癌复发。

(六) 选择性体内放射疗法(SIRT)

  • 治疗原理:SIRT是一种无线电栓塞技术,其中的放射性微球是通过血管内导管注入到肿瘤的肝动脉。这些微球有钇-90标记,它能够发射短距离辐射。SIRT令高辐射剂量照射在肿瘤上而不过度损害正常肝功能。不同的研究显示,晚期肝癌病患者接受 SIRT 治疗, 有20-89%反应率, 因而进展中位数为7至12个月。
  • 适合患者 : 不适合接受手术或作局部消融治疗的病人。 一些患有门静脉血栓并不能接受TACE的病人, 一般都较能接受此疗法(SIRT)。 TACE 及SIRT的回顾性比较显示两者有着相似功效。 但未有就SIRT 和TACE进行正式的随机对照测试。
  • 对于个别肝功能差及有腹水的患者均不适宜接受选择性体内放射(SIRT) 。 透过治疗前评估作肝血管造影及Technetium MMA扫瞄是必须的. 以评估微球在肺部, 肝部及胃肠道的摄取量。 将SIR 微球输入胃肠道或胰脏会导致腹部剧痛, 急性胰脏炎, 胆囊炎及消化性溃痬。 过度分流至肺部可能会导致放射性肺炎. 过多辐射到正常肝实质有可能会导致放射性肝炎。

(七) 立体定位消融放射治疗(SABR)

  • 治疗原理 : 肝癌外照射以往很少使用, 原因是肝脏忍受辐射能力较低 辐射性肝病风险会随肝功能差増加。 随着经验增长, 现在已知的是将高剂量辐射送入到肿瘤是可以控制病情并同时保留足够的正常肝脏 。通过利用多模态图像配准, 放射处理计划, 呼吸动态管理及图像引导放射治疗。 立体定位消融放射治疗法已大大提高治疗准确性,并使消融剂量辐射能够安全地送入病人体内。
  • 适合患者 : 不适合接受手术或作局部消融治疗的病人。 一些病患者曾多次接受TACE治疗但仍癌症复发 。患有门静脉血栓但不能接受TACE治疗的患者都可以用此SABR 疗法。 80-90% 患有少于5cm 肿瘤的病人都有良好反应。 严重癌症的病人则有约50至70% 良好反应。 从接受较高剂量的病人中可见病情控制及存活率有改善.

(八) 全身治疗 及标靶治疗

  • 在未研发索拉非尼(Sorafenib) 时, 是没有对肝癌患者作一线全身治疗. 很多随机对照试验显示对比完全不做治疗,利用全身化疗, 激素化合物, 奥曲肽和干扰素治疗都不能改善存活率
  • 索拉非尼(Sorafenib)是现时唯一获得美国食物及药物管理局批准可向肝癌病人使用的标靶治疗. 在两个随机对照试验中, 索拉非尼(Sorafenib)有较好的存活优势.
  • 索拉非尼(Sorafenib)能抑制以下受体酪氨酸激酶 : VEGFR-2, VEGFR-3, PDGFR-b, c-KIT, and Flt-3. 由于索拉非尼(Sorafenib)能减少肿瘤内的血流, 研究已经开始调查以索拉非尼(Sorafenib)作为治愈性治疗, 例如切除或局部消融. 或将索拉非尼(Sorafenib)结合TACE 或SBRT使用.虽然索拉非尼(Sorafenib)是提供给未期肝癌患者一种舒缓治疗的选择, 它亦会制造毒性并影响病人生活质素. 例如皮肤病副作用 (手足综合征), 高血压, 疲倦, 肠胃不适. 其他副作用包括心肌缺血, 甲状线功能障碍 , 肠穿孔, 出血和肝炎.
8

肝癌病人常见的并发症有以下几项:

  • 肝功能衰竭: 当癌组织严重损害病人肝脏,导致肝脏严重破坏。体内毒素不能排出,导致肝性脑病。肝性脑病也是导致肝癌死亡的主要原因。
  • 肾功能衰竭: 肝功能衰竭现象引发肾功能衰竭,导致无法排除体内废物。
  • 肿瘤转移: 肿瘤细胞较常见转移到肺及骨, 当转移到腹膜时,亦会产生腹水,靠近横隔膜的肝癌直接浸润横隔膜及胸膜,可引起血性胸水。
9

病人接受手术前后和康复期间,需要注意的事项很多,多一分认识和了解,有助患者积极面对疾病。l

  • 定期覆诊: 医生会安排病人定时覆诊,监察肝功能及复发征状,若发现有任何新的症状,病人必须尽快通知医生。 l
  • 饮食: 改善食欲,鼓励进食

         ‧多吸收蛋白质(牛奶、蛋、瘦肉)和多种维他命,限制动物油的摄取

         ‧ 食物应以易消化的食物为主多食新鲜蔬菜水果 l

  • 运动: 适当运动,但应避免过劳
  • 活动: 减少去人群聚集的公共场所,以防感染传染病
  • 戒酒及避免加重肝脏负荷的药物及化学物质
回上
本地及海外支援组织
回上
相关资料
回上
相关录音片段
  • 肝癌 (一)
  • 肝癌 (二)
回上
相关录像影片
回上
回上