Thyroid Cancer

Thyroid cancer is not common in Hong Kong, and the death rate is relatively low. According to data of Hong Kong Cancer Registry, there were 795 new cases (147 being males and 648 being females) and 44 deaths in 2014. Thyroid cancer usually affects middle-aged or older people but papillary cancer can occur in younger people. Women have a higher chance of getting the cancer and it is rarely seen in children.

The development of thyroid cancer is slow and it may take a few years for the cancer cells to develop into an obvious mass. With current technology, doctors can detect thyroid cancer even when it is small and the new treatments can achieve a high cure rate. However, as the cancer develops slowly, there is still chance of recurrence a number of years after the initial treatment. Therefore, regular follow-up is advised.

(Special thanks to Dr. C. K. KWAN, Consultant, Department of Oncology, United Christian Hospital for reviewing the information of this page)

1

Thyroid is a gland in front of the neck beneath the voice box. It looks like a butterfly. It is an endocrine tissue which is responsible for the production of thyroxine. Situated behind the thyroid gland are parathyroid glands which secrete parathyroid hormone. Thyroxine is needed to keep the body functioning and its action affects blood sugar level, heart beat and kidney function. Parathyroid hormone helps regulate body calcium level. If cells in thyroid gland grow abnormally and they do not die as usual, cancer will be formed.

2

Thyroid cancer can be classified into 4 types:

  1. Papillary thyroid cancer: This is the most common type and it often occurs in young females.
  2. Follicular thyroid cancer: This is the next common type and it occurs mostly in older people.
  3. Medullary thyroid cancer: This is a rare type and it is likely to run in families.
  4. Anaplastic thyroid cancer: This is also a rare type and this usually occurs in people over 60 years old. It grows quickly and is difficult to cure. Improperly treated papillary thyroid cancer may transform into this type of cancer.

Apart from these types of cancer, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma can rarely occur in thyroid.

3

As the cause of thyroid cancer is largely unknown, there is no preventive measure. You should be alert if a family member has got thyroid cancer or a thyroid problem. It is best to have a self-check on the neck semi-annually and to have regular ultrasound scan.

4

The exact cause of thyroid cancer in most patients is unknown. The following are risk factors that can increase the chance of developing thyroid cancer.

  • Exposure to high level of radiation: This may be due to radiation therapy given in childhood or to unusually high level of radiation in the environment. Radiation leak from nuclear plant occurred before and there was a higher rate of thyroid cancer for the residents living near the nuclear plant.
  • Hereditary conditions: If a family member has had goiter, familial medullary thyroid cancer, multiple endocrine neoplasia or familial adenomatous polyposis, one has a higher chance of developing thyroid cancer.
  • Personal history: When one has had conditions like goiter and benign thyroid nodules, one has a higher chance of developing the disease.
  • Sex: Females have a higher chance of having the cancer.
  • Diet: Lack of iodine may lead to the development of thyroid cancer.
  • Age: Many of the thyroid cancer patients are over 40 years of age.
5

The commonly seen symptoms of thyroid cancer are the following.

  • A painless lump in the neck with gradual increase in size
  • Persistent hoarseness
  • Pain in the neck or in the throat, and sometimes up to the ears
  • Having trouble on swallowing or breathing
  • Persistent cough but without flu symptoms

Early thyroid cancer is not obvious and you may not be aware of its existence. To avoid delay in diagnosis and treatment, one should seek advice from a doctor when one worries about having a thyroid problem.
 

6

Blood tests:
Samples of blood will be taken to check thyroid hormone and TSH levels. The blood will also be tested to check one's general health.

Fine-needle aspiration or biopsy:
Using a small needle, a sample of cells is taken out of a thyroid nodule and is examined under a microscope to check if there are cancer cells present. The doctor may use an ultrasound scanner to help guide the needle to the right area.

Surgical biopsy:
If a diagnosis can't be made after fine-needle aspiration, a doctor will make a small cut close to thyroid and extract a sample of tissue.

Ultrasound thyroid scan:
The doctor makes use of ultrasound scanner to create a picture of the neck and the inside of the thyroid gland. Hence, one can learn if the nodules are solid or filled with fluid.

Thyroid radioisotope scan:
A small amount of radioactive iodine is injected into a vein in the arm. After 20 minutes, the patient will lie on the bed and a gamma camera will be positioned over patient’s neck to measure the radiation activity of the patient’s thyroid gland. Cancer cells do not absorb radioactive iodine as good as normal thyroid cells. Therefore, the image will show the position of the cancer.

CT Scan:
CT scan is a series of x-rays which build up a three-dimensional picture of the inside of the body. Thus, the size and position of the tumor can be clearly displayed. Should the patient have history of iodine allergy or asthma he/she has to tell the medical staff beforehand.

7

(1) Surgery
Most people with thyroid cancer will have surgery. The surgeon removes the whole thyroid gland or part of it, depending on the patient's conditions.
During the operation, surgeon will examine the lymph nodes close to the thyroid to see if they have been affected by cancer cells. If cancer has spread outside the gland, surgeon will remove the neighboring tissues as well.
After removal of entire or nearly all thyroid gland, patient needs to take thyroid hormone as replacement for the rest of his/her life. This also helps suppress the secretion of thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH). If the level of thyroid stimulating hormone is high, the remaining cancer cells may be stimulated, resulting in recurrence of cancer.

(2) Radioactive Iodine Therapy
Following the operation, treatment using radioactive iodine is considered if the cancer cells have not been completely eliminated or the cancer cells have spread to other parts of the body. This is one kind of internal radiotherapy. The radioactive substance is taken as a capsule or a drink. The thyroid cancer cells will absorb the radioactive iodine which will destroy them. Normal cells will remain unaffected.
Within 4 weeks before radioactive iodine therapy, patient should stop taking thyroid hormone because it will render radioactive iodine ineffective. He/She may be treated with recombinant human thyroid stimulating hormone (rhTSH) to overcome the potential problems of stopping thyroid hormone. Furthermore, patient should avoid food with high level of iodine, starting to do so at least 2 weeks prior to the therapy. The food include seafood, iodine-added salt, cough medicines, eggs, cheese and milk.
Within first 4 to 5 days after the therapy, high level of radiation can be detected in urine, blood, saliva and sweat. Patient will stay in hospital to avoid contacting other people. When the radiation level drops to the safety level, the patient can then be discharged.
Radioactive iodine therapy does not entail long term influence and female patients can have normal pregnancy. However, within 1 year after the therapy, a female patient is not recommended to become pregnant or to breastfeed a baby.

(3)External radiation therapy
Should cancer cells still remain in the neck after the operation or the cancer cannot be removed by surgery, external radiation therapy is considered. This type of treatment is more commonly used in patients suffering from medullary thyroid cancer or anaplastic thyroid cancer. Another indication for this therapy is recurrence of cancer in the neck.
Prior to the therapy, a transparent mask which fits the patient's head and neck is prepared. This mask helps immobilize the head during the therapy. The whole course of treatment usually takes 6 – 7 weeks.

(4) Targeted therapy
This is used when other treatments like surgery or radioactive iodine are no longer effective.
 

8

After removal of the thyroid gland, patient may experience the following side effects:

  • Bleeding, wound infection
  • Hoarseness
  • Fatigue
  • Removal of parathyroid glands may result in drastic fall of calcium level inside the body, which causes limb numbness or cramps. Patient can take calcium tablets or vitamin D as supplement.
  • A scar is left at lower part of neck after the operation but it will gradually fade out.

 
After receiving radioactive iodine therapy, the following side effects may occur:

  • Nausea
  • Dry mouth
  • Dry eyes
  • Swelling and tenderness of salivary glands
  • Change of taste or smell
  • Sore neck or upper chest

 
On receiving external radiation therapy, the following side effects may be present:

  • Nausea, fatigue
  • Sore throat, difficulty in swallowing
  • Dry mouth
  • Sore skin
  • Hoarseness

Most of the side effects are temporary. Should the patient feel uncomfortable, he/she can seek advice from doctor.

9

1. Care after surgery:
After surgery, patient should try to get out of the bed at the earliest possible time. If he/she needs to stay in bed, he/she should follow medical staff's instructions to maintain sufficient movement and to take deep breaths. For a better airway, he/she should be in a recumbent position when lying on bed. Patient may feel pain on swallowing and he/she may take fluid or soft food.

2. Regular medication:
Take medications (e.g. thyroxine hormone, calcium and vitamin D) according to doctor’s instructions

3. Regular followup:
Regular follow-up is vital in the early detection of cancer recurrence. Even though the thyroid gland has been removed, there is still chance of recurrence. Half a year after radioactive iodine therapy, a whole body scan may be done to see if cancer cells remain in the body. Thereafter, regular body checkup and blood test for thyroglobulin level will be done.

4. Adequate nutrition
Because of the side effects of the therapy, a patient may not tolerate normal diet and he/she can replace meals with nutritious, high-calorie drinks.

Back To Top
Local and Overseas Supporting Organisations
Back To Top
Related Documents
Back To Top
Related Audio
Back To Top
Related Video
Back To Top
Back To Top

甲状腺癌

甲状腺癌在香港并不常见,死亡率也较低。根据香港医院管理局癌症数据统计中心的数字,2014年共有795人患上甲状腺癌,其中男性有147人,女性648人,而死亡人数有44人。甲状腺癌的患者一般为中老年人,而其中的乳头状癌更会发生在年轻人身上,儿童很少患上。另外,女性患甲状腺癌的机会比男性高。

甲状腺癌的发病过程很缓慢,由癌细胞出现到发病可能历时数年。以目前的医学技术来说,即使甲状腺肿瘤仍很小,医护人员也能侦测得到,新式疗法亦令治愈率提高。不过,正是由于它发展缓慢,如果你曾患过甲状腺癌,有机会在多年后再次复发,所以必须定期跟进。

(感谢基督教联合医院肿瘤科顾问医生关仲江医生审阅本页内容)

1

甲状腺位于颈部前面咽喉下面,呈蝴蝶状,是一个内分泌组织,负责分泌甲状腺素。躺在甲状腺后面的是副甲状腺,负责分泌副甲状腺素。甲状腺素能调节新陈代谢、血糖、心跳和肾功能等,而副甲状腺素则可以调节身体钙质、平衡骨骼的钙质、促进小肠及肾脏吸收钙质。当甲状腺的细胞异常增生,旧细胞又未曾死亡,细胞便会不断堆积,形成癌瘤。

2

甲状腺癌可分为四类,发病对象不同,治疗方法也可能不同:

(一) 乳头状癌 (Papillary):最普遍的一种,多出现于年青女性身上
(二) 滤泡状癌 (Follicular):第二普遍的一种,大多发生于较年长的人身上
(三) 髓质癌 (Medullary):罕见的甲状腺癌,家族遗传的机会较高
(四) 退行发育癌 (Anaplastic):罕见的甲状腺癌,患者多为60岁以上,癌瘤的生长速度较其他甲状腺癌快,也不易治理。没好好治理的乳头状癌会演变为此种癌症。

除以上类别外,甲状腺也可能出现淋巴瘤,属于非何杰金氏淋巴癌的一种,不过很罕见。

3
由于目前医学界还不清楚甲状腺癌的真正成因,因此未有预防方法,如果你的家族曾有人患上甲状腺癌或甲状腺异常的疾病,应特别提高警觉,最好每半年自我检查颈部,并定期做超音波检查。
4

甲状腺癌的成因仍不清楚,有可能与以下因素有关:

  • 曾接触大量辐射:例如幼年时曾接受过头颈X光照射或放射治疗,又或生活环境中有高密度的放射线,过往外国核电厂发生辐射泄漏事件后,该地区的人患甲状腺癌的比率也特别高。
  • 家族遗传:家族中曾有人患过甲状腺肿瘤、家族性甲状腺髓质癌、多发性内分泌肿瘤及遗传性大肠瘜肉等均有较大机会患上甲状腺癌。
  • 个人病历:本身曾患过甲状腺肿瘤或甲状腺良性结节等疾病,患上甲状腺癌的机会也较高。
  • 性别:女性患甲状腺癌的机会较男性大。
  • 饮食:饮食中缺乏碘亦有可能增加患上甲状腺癌的机会。
  • 年龄:很多甲状腺癌的患者都是40岁以上的人士。
5

甲状腺癌常见的征状包括:

  • 抚压颈部前端时发现无痛硬块,并日渐增大
  • 声音持续沙哑
  • 颈痛或喉咙痛,有时连耳朵也感到痛楚
  • 吞咽或呼吸困难,有压迫感
  • 持续咳嗽,但没有其他感冒迹象

甲状腺癌的早期征状并不明显,可能会令你忽略或以为是其他疾病,假如你有怀疑,应该到医生处检查清楚,以免延误病情。

6
  • 血液检验:血液样本可以查验出甲状腺荷尔蒙水平是否正常。亦可用于检查一般健康状况。
  • 幼针抽验或活组织检验:利用一支细针慢慢插入颈部的硬块,抽出细胞,然后在显微镜下检查是否有癌细胞,医生可能会借助超声波扫描来确定细针插入的位置。
  • 手术活组织检验:如果幼针抽验无法取得足够的活组织,医生便需要为病人进行手术来抽取活组织样本。医生会在甲状腺附近的皮肤先切一个小口,然后切取一小块甲状腺组织,在显微镜下检查组织是否有癌细胞。
  • 超声波甲状腺扫描:医生会利用超声波描绘颈部及甲状腺内部的图像,藉此查看当中组织是固体硬块还是囊液。
  • 甲状腺放射性同位素扫描︰医护人员会将小量放射性碘注射入病人的血管,二十分钟后,病人躺在床上,医护人员会将伽玛摄影机放于病人的颈部,以测量甲状腺的放射量。由于癌细胞不像正常甲状腺细胞般吸收放射物质,故此摄影机得出的影像可以显示癌瘤的位置。
  • 计算机扫描︰扫描机会摄取一系列的X光片,把影像输入计算机后形成三维图像,从而得出癌瘤的大小和部位等详细影像。如果病人对碘敏感或有哮喘,应先通知医护人员。
7

(一) 外科手术
甲状腺癌主要是以手术治疗,医生会视乎病人的情况,决定只切除部分甲状腺或是整个甲状腺。
在进行手术时,医生亦会检查甲状腺附近的淋巴结有没有受癌细胞影响;如果癌细胞已开始扩散到甲状腺以外的地方,医生会把甲状腺附近的组织一并切除。
在切除整个或接近整个甲状腺后,病人须要终生服用甲状腺荷尔蒙,以替代原先由甲状腺制造的荷尔蒙,这亦可以帮助抑压甲状腺刺激荷尔蒙(TSH)的分泌。如果甲状腺刺激荷尔蒙处于高水平,有可能会刺激剩余的癌细胞,令癌症复发。

(二) 放射性碘治疗
切除手术后,如果癌细胞未能完全清除、出现转移或扩散的情况,病人可能要接受放射性碘治疗。这是一种体内放射治疗,放射性碘以胶囊或液体形式给病人吞服。甲状腺癌细胞会吸收碘,然后被当中的放射性物质摧毁,而正常细胞则很少受到影响。
在接受放射性碘治疗前约四星期,病人需停止服用甲状腺荷尔蒙,因为甲状腺荷尔蒙会阻碍吸收放射性碘而令其失去疗效 ; 病人或可改用注射人体甲状腺刺激荷尔蒙(rhTSH),以避免因停服甲状腺荷尔蒙而引起的问题。另外,在治疗前约两星期,病人开始停止进食碘含量高的食物,例如海鲜、加碘的食盐、咳嗽药等,也要避免吃蛋、芝士或饮用牛奶等,以免影响疗效。
病人在接受治疗后四至五天内,体内的放射性物质会随尿液、血液、唾液及汗液等排走,因此这段期间要在医院接受隔离,避免接触其他人,待数天后当辐射量降至安全水平便可出院。
放射性碘不会为病人带来长远影响,女病人将来也可以正常怀孕,不过在接受治疗后首年内,病人不宜怀孕及喂哺母乳。

(三) 体外放射治疗
如果手术后仍有癌细胞残留于颈部、或无法以手术移除癌肿瘤,医生会考虑采用体外放射治疗。这方法较常用于治疗髓质癌及退行发育癌。假如癌症复发,也可能使用这种方法治疗。
进行治疗前,医院须要为病人制造适合头颈的透明胶面具,这面具与治疗床连接,以确保放射治疗时病人的头部处于正确位置。整个疗程通常约六至七星期。

(四) 标靶治疗
当一般常用的治疗如手术和放射性性碘变得无效时,可考虑使用标靶治疗药物。
 

8

进行手术切除甲状腺后,病人可能会出现以下的副作用:

  • 声音沙哑
  • 流血,伤口感染
  • 疲倦
  • 副甲状腺切除后会引致体内钙质水平大幅下降,容易出现四肢麻痹或抽搐。病人可以服用钙片和维他命D作补充
  • 疤痕:手术后锁骨上方会留下疤痕,不过随着时间会逐渐变淡

接受放射性碘治疗时,可能出现以下副作用:

  • 恶心
  • 口干
  • 眼睛干涩
  • 唾液腺肿胀和疼痛
  • 味觉或嗅觉转变
  • 颈或胸部感到疼痛

 
如果接受体外放射治疗,则有可能有以下副作用:

  • 恶心、疲倦
  • 喉咙痛、难以吞咽
  • 口部干涸
  • 皮肤疼痛
  • 声音沙哑

 
大部分的副作用只是短暂性,如果感到不适,可跟医护人员诉说,以寻求纾缓的方法。

9

(一) 手术后的护理
手术后,应尽早下床走动,如果仍需卧床,应跟随治疗师的指导,定时作足部移动及深呼吸。为了保持气道畅通,需要以半坐的姿势卧床。手术后一段时间内,病人吞咽时会感到痛楚,可能要进食流质或较软的食物。

(二) 定期服药
按照医生指示服用所需药物 (例如甲状腺荷尔蒙、钙片及维他命D)。

(三) 定期覆诊
定期覆诊及跟进检查对侦察癌症复发是很重要的,即使甲状腺已被切除,也一样有复发机会。在接受放射性碘治疗后半年,医生会安排病人进行同位素碘全身扫描及抽血检验甲状腺球蛋白,以确定没有残留癌细胞。此后医生会定期替病人进行颈部检查及抽血检验等,侦察复发。

(四) 摄取充足的营养
如果因治疗的副作用而暂时无法正常进食,可先以饮用高营养及高热量的营养补充饮品替代。

回上
本地及海外支援组织
  • 再生会
  • 香港癌症基金会
  • NHS, UK
回上
相关资料
  • 甲状腺肿瘤放射碘治疗
回上
相关录音片段
回上
相关录像影片
回上
回上