Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Diseases

There is currently no cure for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and it will deteriorate gradually over time. New cases are on the rise globally. Statistics of 2007 indicated that COPD is the fifth fatal disease in Hong Kong. Moreover, it causes heavy burden to the demand for medical services in Hong Kong. According to the Hospital Authority, the hospitalization days of COPD patients ranks third in the total utilization of hospital-bed days in 2007.

Although there is no cure for COPD, the condition can be improved by early treatment. In addition, the cause for COPD is clear, and not smoking or to quit smoking help prevent the disease.

(Special thanks to Dr. Christopher CHAN, Consultant, Department of Medicine, Alice Ho Miu Ling Nethersole Hospital for reviewing the information of this page.)

1

COPD refers to the obstruction or narrowing of respiratory tract caused by long-term damage to the respiratory system, resulting in difficulties of the lung to breathe in and out properly. This in turn causes symptoms such as hypoxia (lack of oxygen), breathlessness and coughing. COPD patients may even have difficulties in their normal daily activities.

2

Particular attention should be paid to the following significant risk factors of COPD:

  • Smoking
     
  • Passive smoking
     
  • Air pollution
     
  • Indoor pollution
     
  • Long term exposure to fumes and dust in the working environment
     
  • Congenital anti-protein enzyme deficiency
3
  • Do not smoke or quit smoking
     
  • Put on personal protection equipment, for example, wear mask if you may inhale fumes and dust during work persistently
4

Smoking is confirmed to be the main cause of COPD. It will lower the oxygen level of the body. Tobacco tar and other chemicals produced during the burning of cigarette will damage lung tissues and cause inflammation of the respiratory tract. Veteran smokers are more susceptible to emphysema and chronic bronchitis.

COPD is mainly the condition of airways obstruction caused by emphysema or chronic bronchitis. Emphysema refers to the swelling and damaging of alveoli (air sacs) at the tips of bronchioles, reducing the area available for air exchange and thus a decrease of oxygen supply in the blood and inability to remove carbon dioxide effectively. Chronic bronchitis refers to the inflammation of mucus membranes in the bronchi due to infection or otherwise, causing an increased production of secretion which blocks the airways. This leads to symptoms of coughing and short breath. It should be noted that lung tissues and function cannot recover completely once they are damaged, therefore COPD cannot be cured completely.

5
相片

Common symptoms include:

  • Coughing for long term
  • Lots of sputum
  • Shortness of breath, especially during physical exercises
  • Difficult in breathing
  • Decreased physical strength and activity
  • Hypoxia (severe lack of oxygen) with blue discolouration of lips, hands and feet 
        

Early COPD does not have obvious symptoms. But as the lung function is increasingly damaged, patient with moderate to severe stage of disease would experience shortness of breath, decreased activity or even hypoxia.

6

If doctor suspects patient have COPD, doctor may arrange part or all of the following examinations for patients: 相片

Pulmonary function test
This is a common way to diagnose COPD. By the data obtained from blowing air into the Spirometry for a few times, patient’s lung capacity and the exhalation speed are shown for diagnosing whether the patient has COPD. Pulmonary function test is also commonly used for assessing the progress of the disease.

Chest X-ray
Chest X-ray can be used for the diagnosis of advanced stage emphysema. Doctor usually uses chest X-ray to examine and rule out other lung or heart diseases, e.g. tuberculosis and lung cancer.

Arterial blood gas analysis
Doctor will take the blood from patient’s artery to analyze the levels of oxygen and CO2 contained in blood. This test has a certain degree of risk and is usually used to patient with more severe COPD to determine whether the patient needs long-term oxygen therapy.

There is another common way to measure the oxygen content. It is done by clipping a small apparatus on the patient’s finger to detect the oxygen content from skin surface. It is done quickly without fuss and wound but cannot provide CO2 level and other data.

Sputum examination
Sputum examination is used to rule out the possibility of other lung diseases, e.g. lung cancer and tuberculosis. When the condition of COPD patient gets exacerbated (i.e. more sputum with pus and difficulty breathing), the sputum can be used for bacterial examination, which helps the diagnosis and treatment.

7
相片

The damage to patient’s lung tissues and function cannot be reversed. Thus, COPD cannot be cured.

 

Quit smoking
Quit smoking can ease the coughing and reduce the amount of sputum as well as slow down the deterioration. Patient can get counseling and / or drug therapy to help kick the habit.

Drug therapy
Medication can help improve the condition of patient and mitigate the impact of the disease to the patient’s daily life. Common medication includes:

  1. Bronchodilators: relax the muscles in the ariway, resulting in airway dilatation and ease the symptoms. There are two types of bronchodilators, oral and metered dose inhalers. Metered dose inhaler can deliver the puff of medication into the airway directly. If the inhalation method is correct, the dosage needed can be smaller than that of oral bronchodilator, and also the side effects of medication, e.g. palpitation, shaky hands, sleeplessness, headache, dry mouth and muscle cramp can be reduced.
  2. Steroids: can reduce airway inflammation, but not all patients will get better after using it. Prolonged use of oral steroids may have side effects of weakened immunity and osteoporosis (porous bones); while using spray steroids may cause sore throat and infection of monilia in the throat, but  it has fewer side effects on the whole body than those of oral steroids.
  3. Antibiotics: doctor will prescribe drugs to patient with bacterial infections to control the condition.
  4. Expectorant: thinning sputum for easier expectoration.

Long-term oxygen therapy
Doctor will prescribe long-term oxygen therapy to patient with severe insufficiency of oxygen. After assessment by doctor and therapist, patient should install oxygen concentrator and carry light and portable equipment when going out. Patient should follow doctor’s instructions on using the appropriate concentration of oxygen and should not adjust it on his/her own discretion.

Pulmonary rehabilitation treatment
It can reduce the need for hospitalization and improve the quality of life. The treatment generally includes teaching of skills of controlling asthma, breathing exercise, methods of removing sputum (e.g. expectoration posture and skills), coordination of respiration and body movements, physical exercise, methods saving physical strength, stress managing skills and recommendations for diet. Pulmonary rehabilitation treatment is provided by health care professionals, including doctors, physiotherapists, occupational therapists and dieticians.

Surgery
Some of the patients with severe emphysema may need surgery to remove part of the lungs.

In recent years, there is new surgery treatment with fewer traumas, by using bronchoscope to implant a small valve in a specific bronchus which collapses the corresponding lobe of lung. This method serves the same purpose with removal of a lobe of lung, and to let other lobes have more room to expand so as to alleviate symptoms and enhance the endurance of activities.

8
Patients are prone to have bacterial infection in lungs. In addition, COPD patients are prone to have hypertension , heart disease,lung cancer and depression.
9

Patient should be aware of the followings:

  • No smoking or quit smoking immediately
  • Symptom management: regular and correct use of drugs in accordance with the direction of doctors. If there are changes in symptoms, e.g. shortness of breath is more intense during nighttime so that patient cannot fall asleep, he/she may increase the dosage of bronchodilators. If there is no improvement or the symptom deteriorates after increase in dosage, patient should consult doctor as soon as possible.
  • Exercise regularly: exercise can train the physical fitness and endurance of patient, but should not be excessive and depend on his/her own circumstances and ability. Patient should consult doctor or physiotherapist if needed.
  • Pay attention to diet: less irritating food, e.g. food which is too cold or too hot;may trigger coughing caused by throat irritation; have low salt, low fat and high fiber diet to reduce the burden on heart and kidneys and enhance the health of lungs.
Back To Top
Related Audio
Back To Top
Related Video
Back To Top
Back To Top

慢性阻塞性肺病

慢性阻塞性肺病(Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Diseases)是一種無法治癒且病情會不斷惡化的慢性疾病,於全球的發病率持續上升。根據2007年的統計數字,慢性阻塞性肺病是香港第五大殺手病。此外,這疾病亦為本港的醫療服務需求帶來沉重負擔。醫管局資料顯示,2007年慢性阻塞性肺病病人的住院日數,佔全年總病床使用日數的第三位。

 雖然慢性阻塞性肺病無法根治,但及早求醫能提高治療成效。另外,慢性阻塞性肺病的成因明確,不吸煙或戒煙有助預防疾病。

(感謝雅麗氏何妙齡那打素醫院內科部顧問醫生陳學深醫生審閱本頁內容)

1
慢性阻塞性肺病指呼吸系統經長期破壞引致呼吸道阻塞及收窄,令人體肺部難以呼出和吸入空氣,導致缺氧、氣喘、咳嗽等徵狀,甚至影響患者一般日常活動。
2

以下是導致慢性阻塞性肺病的高危因素,請特別注意:

  • 長期吸煙
  • 長期吸入二手煙
  • 空氣污染
  • 室內污染
  • 於工作環境長時間吸入煙塵及化學物
  • 先天性抗蛋白質酵素不足,與遺傳有關
3
  • 不吸煙或戒煙
  • 配戴個人保護裝備:如工作上長期吸入煙塵,應配戴口罩。
4

吸煙已被確定為慢性阻塞性肺病的主要成因。吸煙會降低體內的含氧量,煙油或其他燃點香煙時產生的化學物質會損害肺部組織和引致呼吸道發炎。長期吸煙有較大機會引致肺氣腫及慢性支氣管炎。

慢性阻塞性肺病主要是由肺氣腫或慢性支氣管炎所引致的氣流阻塞的病況。

肺氣腫指位於細支氣管末端的肺泡腫大並被破壞,減少肺部氣體交換的面積,導致血液中氧氣供應量減少以及二氧化碳無法被有效排走。慢性支氣管炎指支氣管由於感染或非感染因素引致黏膜發炎,增加黏液分泌並阻塞呼吸道,出現咳嗽、氣喘等症狀。值得注意的是肺部組織及功能受損後並不能完全復原,因此慢性阻塞性肺病不能徹底根治。

5
相片 常見的徵狀有:
  • 長期咳嗽
  • 多痰
  • 氣促,運動時情況惡化
  • 呼吸困難
  • 體力及活動能力下降
  • 出現缺氧情況,如嘴唇、手、腳呈藍色

慢性阻塞性肺病早期患者病徵不明顯。隨著肺功能日益受損,中、晚期患者會出現氣促、活動能力下降甚至缺氧的情況。

6

醫生聽取病人病歷後,如懷疑病人患上慢性阻塞性肺病,會安排以下部份或全部檢查來幫助診斷:相片

 

  • 肺功能檢查
    這是診斷慢性阻塞性肺病的常用方法。透過病人多次吹氣入肺活量計(Spirometry) 後所得數據,得知病人的肺容量及呼氣速度,從而診斷病人有否患上慢性阻塞性肺病。肺功能檢查亦常用於監測患者的病情。
  • 胸肺X光照片檢查
  • 動脈血液氣體分析
    醫生會抽取病人動脈血管中的血液,分析血液所含的氧氣及二氧化碳水平。此檢查有一定的危險性,多數用於較嚴重的慢性阻塞性肺病患者,以決定病人是否需要接受長期氧氣治療。
  • 另一種常用以測量病人血氧含量的方法, 是以小型儀器夾於病人手指上, 透過皮膚表面 偵測血氧含量, 此方法既方便又快捷, 且無創傷性, 但不能提供二氧化碳水平及其他資料。

  • 痰涎樣本化驗
    痰涎樣本化驗可用以排除其他肺部疾病的可能性, 如肺癌、肺結核等。當慢性阻塞性肺病病人情況加劇 (即痰量增加且帶膿, 呼吸困難), 痰涎樣本可作細菌檢驗, 有助診斷及治療。

7
相片

患者的肺部組織及功能受損後不會復原,因此慢性阻塞性肺病不能治癒。治療方向主要是幫助病人控制病情,減低併發症風險。

戒煙
戒煙可減輕慢性阻塞性肺病患者咳嗽和痰多的情況,亦可延緩病情惡化。如有需要,患者可接受輔導及/或藥物治療以協助戒除煙癮。

藥物治療
藥物可改善患者的症狀,以減輕對病人日常生活的影響。常用藥物包括:

  • 氣管舒張劑:可放鬆氣管肌肉,擴張氣管,舒緩病情。氣管舒張劑分口服及噴霧式兩種。噴霧式吸入劑能直接滲入氣管,如吸入方法正確,所需劑量相對口服氣管舒張劑少,可減輕藥物帶來的副作用,如心跳、手顫、失眠、頭痛、口乾、肌肉抽筋等。
  • 類固醇:可抑制患者發炎情況,並不是所有病人用後情況均有改善。長期使用口服類固醇可帶來免疫力下降、骨質疏鬆等副作用;而使用噴霧式類固醇則有聲音沙啞、咽喉受念珠菌感染等,但全身性的副作用則較口服少得多。
  • 抗生素:醫生會處方藥物予受細菌感染的患者,以控制病情。
  • 化痰藥:令痰涎變稀,容易咳出。

長期氧氣治療醫生會處方長期氧氣治療予出現嚴重缺氧情況的患者。經醫生及治療師評估後,患者須在家中設置製氧機,外出時亦需攜帶較輕便的氧氣設備。病人需依照醫生的指示使用適當的氧氣濃度,不應隨意自行調節。

胸肺復康治療
可減少病人入院及改善生活質素。治療內容一般包括教授病人控制氣喘的技巧、呼吸鍛鍊、清除痰涎的方法(如姿位排痰和咳痰技巧)、呼吸與身體動作的協調、體力鍛鍊、節省體力方法、壓力處理技巧、飲食建議等等。胸肺復康治療會由醫護人員提供,當中包括醫生、物理治療師、職業治療師、營養師等。

手術
部份患嚴重肺氣腫的病人可能需要接受手術,切除部份肺部。

近年亦有採用較新而創傷性低得多的方法, 透過支氣管內窺鏡, 於特定的小支氣管植入小瓣膜, 令該部份肺葉萎縮。這方法與切除肺葉達到同一目的, 是讓其他肺葉有更大擴張的空間, 以減輕徵狀及增進活動耐力。

8

患者容易受肺部細菌感染。另外,慢性阻塞性肺病病人較易有高血壓、心臟病、肺癌及抑鬱症。

9
病人要留意以下事項:
  • 不吸煙或立即戒煙
  • 症狀處理:按照醫生指示,定時及正確用藥。尚症狀有轉變,如午夜時氣喘增加至不能入睡,可按需要增加氣管舒張劑的份量。如加藥後症狀無改善或加劇,應盡早求醫。
  • 恆常運動:運動可鍛鍊病人的體能及耐力,但病人要因應個人情況量力而為。如有需要,應向醫生及物理治療師查詢。
  • 注意飲食:少吃刺激性食物如太冷或太熱的食物,減少因喉嚨受刺激而引起咳嗽;奉行低鹽、低脂、高纖飲食,減低對心臟及腎臟的負擔及增強肺部健康。
回上
本地及海外支援組織
回上
相關資料
回上
相關錄音片段
回上
相關錄像影片
回上
回上