Arrhythmia

Arrhythmia is a common heart disease. In general, it refers to any form of abnormal heart rate or rhythm. There are various types of arrhythmia, of which, atrial fibrillation is the most common entity. It is estimated to be presented in 1% of the general population in Hong Kong. Although not immediately life-threatening, it causes a five-fold increase in stroke, three-fold increase in heart failure and two-fold increase in death.

(Special thanks to Dr NY Chan, Deputy Chief-of-Service, Department of Medicine & Geriatrics, Princess Margaret Hospital for reviewing the information of this page.)

1
Arrhythmia refers to any form of abnormal heart rate or rhythm. The normal heart beats 60-100 times per minute when a person is at rest. And it is regular in rhythm.  When a person has slow heart rate, i.e. Less than 60 beats per minute; fast heart rate, i.e. more than 100 beats per minute at rest, he/she may have arrhythmia. Sometimes, a person may have normal heart rate but irregular rhythm. He/she may suffer from ectopic heart beats or atrial fibrillation.
2
The common risk factors for arrhythmia include thyroid disease, hypertension, ischaemic heart disease, heart failure and valvular heart disease. In some patients, arrhythmia may be a side effect from drugs. Sometimes, no cause or risk factor may be identified for arrhythmia.
 
3
Prevention and appropriate treatment for the risk factors and underlying causes of arrhythmia is important. Thyroid disease is amenable to medical treatment usually.  Appropriate lifestyle e.g. Healthy diet with low salt, low fat, low glucose and high fibre food; adequate exercise should be adopted for the prevention of hypertension and ischaemic heart disease. 
4
Patients with arrhythmia may have symptoms of palpitations, dizziness, syncope, fatigue, shortness of breath and decrease in exercise tolerance. In severe situations, patient may have symptoms of slurred speech, visual disturbance and limb weakness suggesting stroke. Sudden death is the most dreadful symptom from some arrhythmias.
5

相片  Electrocardiogram is the most important diagnostic tool. Sometimes prolonged monitoring of heart beat by 24-hour electrogram or event recorder may be needed. Blood tests, especially on electrolytes and thyroid function are mandatory. Depending on the history, physical examination and initial electrocardiogram, further investigations on the heart, namely treadmill test, CT coronary angiogram and catheter-based investigations may be needed.

6
相片

The underlying cause for arrhythmia should be looked for and treated accordingly. There are specific drugs, usually referred as anti-arrhythmic drugs for the treatment of various arrhythmias. Catheter ablation is an interventional and curative treatment option for some arrhythmias. For patients who have slow heart rate and symptoms like dizziness or syncope, pacemaker implantation may need to be considered. On the other hand, for patients who have fast heart rate and risk of sudden death, implantable cardioverter-defibrillator may need to be considered.

7
相片

A common type of arrhythmia, atrial fibrillation, may be complicated by stroke or heart failure. Ventricular tachycardia or fibrillation, which is dangerous arrhythmias, may be complicated by sudden cardiac death.

8
Patients who have symptoms suggestive of arrhythmias, e.g. palpitations, syncope, should seek early medical attention. Patients who have risk factors for arrhythmias should have their medical conditions treated accordingly.
Back To Top
Local and Overseas Supporting Organisations
Back To Top
Related Documents
Back To Top
Related Audio
Back To Top
Related Video
Back To Top
Back To Top

心律不正

心律不正是一种很普遍的心脏病,它泛指任何不正常的心跳或心律问题。心律不正有多种类型,其中以心房纤维性颤动最常见。据估计在香港大约有百分之一的人患有心房纤维性颤动。虽然它不是实时致命的疾病,却会令出现中风的危机增加5倍,患心脏衰竭的机会增加3倍及死亡的机会增加2倍。

(感谢玛嘉烈医院内科及老人科副顾问医生陈艺贤医生审阅本页内容)

1
心律不正是指任何不正常的心跳或心律。当人处于静止状态时,正常的心跳是每分钟60至100次,而心律保持稳定。当心跳过慢,例如每分钟少于60次;或心跳过快,例如处于静态时心跳每分钟多于100次,便可能是患上心律不正。有些病人心跳速度正常但不規則,他有可能患上异位心搏(或称早搏)或心房纤维性颤动。
 
2
引致心律不正最常见的高危因素包括甲状腺疾病、高血压、缺血性心脏病、心脏衰竭及心脏瓣膜病。有些病人出现心律不正,是因为药物的副作用而致,不过也有部分病人未能找出病因或高危因素。
3
要预防心律不正,应针对高危因素及潜在成因加以改善及治疗。甲状腺疾病一般是可以治疗的;大家应保持健康的生活模式,例如养成少盐、低脂、低糖及高纤的饮食习惯;另外,常做适当的运动,亦有助预防高血压及缺血性心脏病。
4
心律不正的病人常见的征状包括心悸、眩晕、昏厥、经常疲累、气促及对运动的耐力减低。情况严重时,病人可能会说话含糊不清、视力模糊及四肢乏力,有机会出现中风,而最可怕的征状莫过于猝死。
5

相片 心电图检查是诊断心律不正的最主要工具,有时候也可能要进行较长时间的心跳监察,例如进行24小时心电图或心律记录仪检查。病人亦需要接受血液检验,以分析电解质水平及甲状腺功能。视乎病人的个人病历、体格检验和初步的心电图检验结果,医生可能需要为病人进一步检查心脏,包括进行踏板心电图、计算机扫瞄冠状动脉造影及导管检验。

6
相片

要治疗心律不正,应找出背后成因并加以治疗。一些特定的药物,一般指抗心律不正药,可以治疗多种心律不正。部分病人可利用导管消融术进行治疗,它是一种介入性及根治性的治疗方法。对于心跳过慢及有晕眩或昏厥症状的病人,便可能需要考虑植入心脏起搏器。至于心跳过快及有猝死危机的病人,则可能要安装植入式心脏除颤器

7
相片

心房纤维性颤动可能引致中风或心脏衰竭,而室性心动过速或心室纤维性颤动这种高危的心律不正则可能会引致心脏猝死。

8
病人如出现心律不正的征状,例如心悸或昏厥,应尽早到医生处检验。如果有引致心律不正的高危因素,便要尽快治疗有关问题。
回上
本地及海外支援组织
回上
相关资料
回上
相关录音片段
回上
相关录像影片
回上
回上